Joint Venture

A joint venture is when different companies cooperate as partners. In several cases it can be advantageous for companies to cooperate with other companies.

What is a joint venture?

One possibility is the joint venture. On this page you can find out what the term means, when it makes sense to work together in this way and what other details you should know.

In principle, the meaning of the term joint venture is already revealed by a simple translation (joint = joint, venture = risk). In connection with companies, joint venture means a cooperation in which the partners participate with their own capital. They jointly bear the financial risk of their investment. The partners also jointly perceive the management of the company.

A joint venture may also be described as a joint venture. This legally independent company is always founded and managed by two or more independent companies. In most cases, the level of capital participation at the time of incorporation influences the decision-making authority of the individual partners. In principle, however, a joint venture is autonomous and not obliged to follow the instructions of the founding partners.

When is a joint venture a good solution?

Companies decide to set up a joint venture for various reasons. This form of cooperation is most frequently chosen in order to divide the entrepreneurial risk between two or more partners. Furthermore, a joint venture makes sense if the partners have specific resources that can be easily combined. These can be, for example, the following factors:

  • Excellent competitive position
  • Distinct (local) market knowledge
  • know-how
  • Locations, production facilities

For example, a joint venture can open up access to new markets. Depending on the extent of the cooperation, it even has the potential to influence the development of an entire industry. Moreover, this approach is not new. Already in the post-war period, US companies in particular took advantage of cooperation with foreign companies to expand their trade borders.

In principle, a joint venture bundles the strengths of the founding companies. This creates competitive advantages and synergy effects. However, joint ventures also have weaknesses. They are therefore not always the ideal form of cooperation. Let's take a closer look at the advantages and disadvantages below.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of a joint venture?

In the case of cooperation in the form of a joint venture, companies generally pursue the same interests. However, each partner naturally has different ideas about processes, organizational structures and goals. This form of cooperation thus holds a certain potential for conflict. The following table summarizes the individual advantages and disadvantages of a joint venture.

Advantages of a joint venture:

  • Competitive advantage by bundling know-how and skills
  • Synergies: Savings opportunities and efficiency advantages through joint use of resources
  • Reduced capital requirements for the individual partners
  • Lower entrepreneurial risk
  • transfer of knowledge
  • Minimization of market entry barriers

Disadvantages of a joint venture:

  • Goals of the partner companies can contradict each other in parts
  • Decisions cause high coordination effort
  • Negotiating conflicts can take a long time
  • Possible limits due to competition law provisions
  • know-how leak
  • For international joint ventures: intercultural challenges, problems due to different legal bases

Last but not least, joint ventures are regarded as an unstable construct. This is reflected in the often limited lifetime of joint ventures. Often one partner takes over the business area of the other participating company and thus the sole management.

What forms of joint ventures are there?

Joint ventures can be distinguished both in terms of cooperation orientation and capital participation.

For example, ahorizontal joint venture is considered to exist if the cooperation partners are active in the same sector. A vertical joint venture, on the other hand, exists when the partners come from different stages of the value chain (e.g. raw material suppliers and finishing companies). The following distinctions are also possible:

  • Concentric joint venture: Partners come from related industries
  • Conglomerates Joint Venture: Partners come from completely different industries

As far as equity participation is concerned, a distinction can be made between theparity joint venture (identical participation ratios, e.g. 50:50) and unequal joint ventures (e.g. 75:25).

In addition, joint ventures can be divided into the following categories:

  • equity joint venture
  • contractual joint venture

The main difference is that in an equity joint venturea joint venture is formed, whereas in acontractual joint venture only contractual relationships are entered into.

equity joint venture

If two or more partners with an equity interest join forces to form a legally independent company, this is referred to as an equity joint venture. In this standard case, therefore, an enterprise with its own legal personality is created. In most cases, long-term terms are agreed for the cooperation in the range of 30 to 50 years. The joint venture will be able to import and export products. It can acquire land use rights, construct buildings and also employ foreign employees. Both profits and losses are shared between the venturers. The distribution key depends on the capital invested.

contractual joint venture

The Contractual Joint Venture does not have an independent joint venture. The partners conclude a contract under which the risk, profit and cost sharing of the partner companies is regulated. Compared to the equity joint venture, the contractual basis can be designed more openly. Among other things, a free determination of the profit and loss distribution key is possible. The same applies to voting rights. Since the contractual joint venture does not necessarily have to be a legal entity, the companies involved are not liable with their contribution in every case. A legally prescribed minimum participation does not exist either. In addition, the costs of incorporation are lower. Under certain circumstances, however, partners may be held directly liable.

If the partner companies come from different countries, there is an international joint venture. The counterpart to this is the domestic joint venture (all partners based in the same country).

What legal form can a joint venture take?

Joint ventures may have different legal forms. It is common, however, to set them up in the form of a corporation (e.g. GmbH or AG). On the other hand, the choice of a commercial partnership is less frequent. The choice of legal form has a significant impact on accounting and reporting. The German Commercial Code (HGB) applies to corporations, while no specific regulations exist for GbR (Gesellschaft bürgerlichen Rechts). It is not uncommon for the choice of corporate form to take tax aspects into account.

How is the joint venture accounted for?

Joint ventures are not subsidiaries within the meaning of the German Commercial Code because they do not have a controlling influence or uniform management. They are therefore included in the consolidated financial statements via two special regulations:

  • Equity method: Equity value in the partner's balance sheet corresponds to equity development in the joint venture
  • Proportionate consolidation: Income, expenses, liabilities and assets are included in the balance sheet in accordance with the proportionate interest held.

What belongs in the joint venture contract?

As a rule, the cooperation partners conclude a joint venture agreement in which they regulate in detail the decision-making, management and termination of the joint project. Equity joint ventures also require a partnership agreement. There should be synchronism between the two components.

As far as the joint venture contract is concerned, there are some typical fields of regulation in detail. In particular, the following points are fixed:

  • Executive bodies and standardization rights: management, supervisory board, departmental responsibilities
  • Economic goals: mostly multi-year planning of future business operations
  • Financing (incl. future capital increases)
  • Financial reporting (incl. information and disclosure rights)
  • Shareholders' and supervisory board meetings
  • Conflict resolution procedure
  • Transfer of shares: Permission and restrictions
  • Prohibitions: Customer protection, poaching of personnel, non-competition clauses
  • Secrecy and confidentiality
  • Compensation in the event of dissolution of the company
  • arbitration agreement
  • Licensing and licence fees
  • Subscription rights and delivery obligations
  • Personnel regulations (employment and perosance costs)
  • Training and further training agreements
  • Provision of material resources (machines, plants, buildings, etc.)

What are the alternatives to the joint venture?

In addition to the joint venture, there are a number of other forms of cooperation for companies. If, for example, one of the partners does not want to take on any financial risk, it is advisable to conclude a so-called management contract. If, on the other hand, an investor wishes to contribute capital and exploit synergy effects, but does not wish to assume management responsibility, a participation model is interesting.

In addition, there are some other forms of joint ventures as an alternative to setting up a joint venture. In particular, the following should be mentioned:

  • Working groups: A merger that is limited to a specific project (often in the construction industry).
  • Consortia: cooperation for temporary projects (e.g. for large-volume contracts)

Both variants are purely functional communities that are established for short periods of time.

So-calledstrategic alliances are furthest away from the joint venture. They are usually limited to the coordination of strategies or goals between two or more companies.

Examples of joint ventures

Several well-known joint ventures have already been realized in Germany. One example is Volkswagen Autoversicherung AG. It was founded in 2013 by Allianz and VW. The aim of both companies was to take out more car insurance policies. More than 40 percent of VW vehicles were to be sold directly with an insurance contract within five years.

In 2009, the energy companies E.ON and RWE established a joint venture to build nuclear power plants in the UK. Both partners have a share of 50 percent. The long-standing cooperation serves, among other things, the purchase of locations and the handling of complex approval processes. The joint venture will also be responsible for the construction and operation of the nuclear power plants themselves. Both partners contribute their expertise, human resources and also their good knowledge of the UK energy market.

Meinolf Schaefer01 1444x1444px

Meinolf Schäfer, Senior Director Sales & Marketing

Do you have any questions? I will be glad to help you.

+49 2241 8845-623

We are your partner for all questions and requirements around SAP. Contact us for a personal conversation.

Mr.
Mrs.

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

Please enter a valid phone number

*

Your valid email adress

Something is missing here

Something is missing here

Please check the reCAPTCHA checkbox

Joint Venture

Von einem Joint Venture spricht man, wenn verschiedene Unternehmen als Partner kooperieren. Für Unternehmen kann es in mehreren Fällen vorteilhaft sein, mit anderen Gesellschaften zu kooperieren.

Was ist ein Joint Venture?

Eine Möglichkeit hierzu ist das Joint Venture. Was sich hinter dem Begriff verbirgt, wann eine Zusammenarbeit dieser Art Sinn macht und welche weiteren Details Sie kennen sollten, erfahren Sie auf dieser Seite.

Die Bedeutung des Begriffs Joint Venture erschließt sich im Grundsatz bereits durch eine einfache Übersetzung (Joint = gemeinsam, Venture = Wagnis oder Risiko). Im Zusammenhang mit Unternehmen steht Joint Venture für eine Kooperation, an der sich die Partner mit eigenem Kapital beteiligen. Sie tragen dabei gemeinsam das finanzielle Risiko ihrer Investition. Auch die Leitung des Unternehmens nehmen die Partner gemeinschaftlich wahr.

Ein Joint Venture kann auch als Gemeinschaftsunternehmen bezeichnet werden. Diese rechtlich eigenständige Gesellschaft wird stets von zwei oder mehreren voneinander unabhängigen Unternehmen gegründet und geführt. Meist beeinflusst die Höhe der Kapitalbeteiligung bei der Gründung die Entscheidungsbefugnis der einzelnen Partner. Grundsätzlich ist ein Joint Venture jedoch autonom und nicht dazu verpflichtet, Anweisungen der Gründungspartner Folge zu leisten.

Wann ist ein Joint Venture eine gute Lösung?

Unternehmen entscheiden sich aus unterschiedlichen Gründen für die Gründung eines Joint Ventures. Am häufigsten wird diese Kooperationsform gewählt, um das unternehmerische Risiko auf zwei oder mehrere Partner aufzuteilen. Weiterhin macht ein Joint Venture Sinn, wenn die Partner über spezifische, gut kombinierbare Ressourcen verfügen. Dies können beispielsweise folgende Faktoren sein:

  • Hervorragende Wettbewerbsposition
  • Ausgeprägte (lokale) Marktkenntnis
  • Know-how
  • Standorte, Produktionsstätten

So kann ein Joint Venture beispielsweise den Zugang zu neuen Märkten eröffnen. Je nach Ausmaß der Kooperation hat es gar das Potenzial, die Entwicklung einer gesamten Branche zu beeinflussen. Im Übrigen ist dieser Ansatz nicht neu. Bereits in der Nachkriegszeit nutzten insbesondere US-Unternehmen die Kooperation mit ausländischen Gesellschaften, um ihre Handelsgrenzen auszuweiten.

Grundsätzlich werden bei einem Joint Venture die Stärken der Gründungsunternehmen gebündelt. Hierdurch entstehen Wettbewerbsvorteile und Synergieeffekte. Allerdings haben Gemeinschaftsunternehmen auch Schwachstellen. Nicht in jedem Fall sind sie daher die ideale Kooperationsform. Sehen wir uns die Vor- und Nachteile im Folgenden näher an.

Was sind die Vorteile und Nachteile eines Joint Ventures?

Bei einer Zusammenarbeit in Form eines Joint Ventures verfolgen Unternehmen grundsätzlich gleiche Interessen. Jedoch hat jeder Partner naturgemäß unterschiedliche Vorstellungen von Prozessen, Organisationsstrukturen und Zielen. Somit birgt diese Kooperationsform ein gewisses Konfliktpotenzial. Folgende Aufstellung fasst zusammen, wie sich die Vor- und Nachteile eines Joint Ventures im Einzelnen darstellen.

Vorteile eines Joint Ventures:

  • Wettbewerbsvorteil durch Bündelung von Know-how und Fähigkeiten
  • Synergien: Einsparungsmöglichkeiten und Effizienzvorteile durch gemeinsame Nutzung von Ressourcen
  • Reduzierter Kapitalbedarf für die einzelnen Partner
  • Geringeres unternehmerisches Risiko
  • Wissenstransfer
  • Minimierung von Markteintrittsbarrieren

Nachteile eines Joint Ventures:

  • Ziele der Partnerunternehmen können sich in Teilen widersprechen
  • Entscheidungen verursachen hohen Koordinationsaufwand
  • Verhandlung bei Konflikten können sich langwierig gestalten
  • Möglicherweise Grenzen durch wettbewerbsrechtliche Bestimmungen
  • Abfluss von Know-how
  • Bei internationalen Joint Ventures: interkulturelle Herausforderungen, Probleme durch unterschiedliche Rechtsgrundlagen

Nicht zuletzt gelten Joint Ventures als instabiles Konstrukt. Dies äußert sich in der oftmals begrenzten Lebensdauer von Gemeinschaftsunternehmen. Häufig übernimmt ein Partner den Geschäftsbereich der anderen beteiligten Gesellschaft und somit die alleinige Führung.

Welche Formen von Joint Ventures gibt es?

Joint Ventures lassen sich sowohl hinsichtlich der Kooperationsausrichtung als auch der Kapitalbeteiligung unterscheiden.

So ist von einem horizontalen Joint Venture die Rede, wenn die Kooperationspartner in derselben Branche tätig sind. Ein vertikales Joint Venture liegt hingegen vor, wenn die Partner aus unterschiedlichen Wertschöpfungsstufen kommen (z. B. Rohstofflieferant und Veredelungsunternehmen). Weiterhin sind folgende Unterscheidungen möglich:

  • Konzentrisches Joint Venture: Partner kommen aus verwandten Branchen
  • Konglomerates Joint Venture: Partner kommen aus völlig unterschiedlichen Branchen

Was die Kapitalbeteiligung betrifft, so kann zwischen dem paritätischen Joint Venture (identische Beteiligungsquoten, z. B. 50:50) und ungleichen Joint Ventures (z. B. 75:25) differenziert werden.

Darüber hinaus können Joint Ventures in folgende Kategorien unterteilt werden:

  • Equity Joint Venture
  • Contractual Joint Venture

Der wesentliche Unterschied besteht darin, dass beim Equity Joint Venture ein Gemeinschaftsunternehmen gegründet wird, beim Contractual Joint Venture hingegen lediglich Vertragsbeziehungen eingegangen werden.

Equity Joint Venture

Schließen sich zwei oder mehr Partner mit Kapitalbeteiligung zusammen, um eine rechtlich selbstständige Unternehmung zu gründen, so ist die Rede vom Equity Joint Venture. In diesem Standardfall entsteht also ein Unternehmen mit eigener Rechtspersönlichkeit. Meist werden langfristige Laufzeiten für die Kooperation im Bereich von 30 bis 50 Jahren vereinbart. Das Gemeinschaftsunternehmen ist in der Lage, Produkte zu importieren und zu exportieren. Es kann Landnutzungsrechte erwerben, Gebäude errichten und auch ausländische Mitarbeiter beschäftigen. Sowohl Gewinne als auch Verluste werden zwischen den Partnerunternehmen aufgeteilt. Der Verteilungsschlüssel hängt vom investierten Kapital ab.

Contractual Joint Venture

Beim Contractual Joint Venture besteht kein eigenständiges Gemeinschaftsunternehmen. Die Partner schließen einen Vertrag, in dessen Rahmen Risiko-, Gewinn- und Kostenbeteiligungen der Partnerunternehmen geregelt werden. Gegenüber dem Equity Joint Venture können die Vertragsgrundlagen offener gestaltet werden. Unter anderem ist eine freie Festlegung des Gewinn- und Verlustverteilungsschlüssels möglich. Gleiches gilt für die Stimmrechte. Nachdem es sich beim Contractual Joint Venture nicht zwingend um eine juristische Person handeln muss, haften die beteiligten Unternehmen auch nicht in jedem Fall mit ihrer Einlage. Eine gesetzlich vorgeschriebene Mindestbeteiligung existiert ebenfalls nicht. Darüber hinaus sind die Kosten für die Gründung geringer. Unter bestimmten Umständen können die Partner jedoch direkt haftbar gemacht werden.

Stammen die Partnerunternehmen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern, so liegt ein internationales Joint Venture vor. Das Gegenstück hierzu ist das Domestic Joint Venture (Sitz sämtlicher Partner im selben Land).

Welche Rechtsform kann ein Joint Venture haben?

Gemeinschaftsunternehmen können unterschiedliche Rechtsformen besitzen. Üblich ist es jedoch, sie in Form einer Kapitalgesellschaft (z. B. GmbH oder AG) zu gründen. Seltener fällt die Wahl hingegen auf eine Personenhandelsgesellschaft. Was die Buchführung und Bilanzierung betrifft, so hat die Wahl der Rechtsform einen erheblichen Einfluss. Für Kapitalgesellschaften gilt das HGB (Handelsgesetzbuch), während für die GbR (Gesellschaft bürgerlichen Rechts) keine spezifischen Vorschriften existieren. Nicht selten erfolgt die Wahl der Gesellschaftsform auch unter Berücksichtigung steuerlicher Gesichtspunkte.

Wie erfolgt die Bilanzierung beim Joint Venture?

Joint Ventures sind im Sinne des Handelsgesetzbuchs keine Tochterunternehmen, da kein beherrschender Einfluss und keine einheitliche Leitung vorliegen. In den Konzernabschluss werden sie daher über zwei spezielle Regelungen einbezogen:

  • Equitymethode: Beteiligungswert in der Bilanz des Partners entspricht Eigenkapitalentwicklung im Joint Venture
  • Quotenkonsolidierung: Erträge, Aufwände, Schulden und Vermögensgegenstände werden gemäß der Beteiligungsquote in die Bilanz aufgenommen

Was gehört in den Joint-Venture-Vertrag?

Im Regelfall schließen die Kooperationspartner eine Joint-Venture-Vereinbarung, in der sie die Entscheidungsfindung, das Management und die Beendigung des Gemeinschaftsprojekts detailliert regeln. Bei Equity Joint Ventures ist zudem ein Gesellschaftsvertrag erforderlich. Zwischen beiden Komponenten sollte ein Gleichlauf bestehen.

Was den Joint-Venture-Vertrag betrifft, so existieren im Detail einige typische Regelungsfelder. Fixiert werden insbesondere folgende Punkte:

  • Organe und Normierungsrechte: Geschäftsführung, Aufsichtsrat, Ressortzuständigkeiten
  • Wirtschaftliche Ziele: meist mehrjährige Planung des zukünftigen Geschäftsbetriebs
  • Finanzierung (inkl. künftige Kapitalerhöhungen)
  • Finanzielle Berichterstattung (inkl. Informations- und Auskunftsrechte)
  • Gesellschafter- und Aufsichtsratsversammlungen
  • Verfahren der Konfliktlösung
  • Übertragung von Anteilen: Erlaubnis und Beschränkungen
  • Verbote: Kundenschutz, Abwerbung von Personal, Wettbewerbsverbote
  • Geheimhaltung und Vertraulichkeit
  • Abfindung bei Auflösung der Gesellschaft
  • Schiedsvereinbarung
  • Lizenzvergabe und Lizenzgebühren
  • Bezugsrechte und Lieferverpflichtungen
  • Regelungen im Personalbereich (Beschäftigung und Perosanlkosten)
  • Aus- und Weiterbildungsvereinbarungen
  • Bereitstellung von Sachmitteln (Maschinen, Anlagen, Gebäude etc.)

Welche Alternativen gibt es zum Joint Venture?

Neben dem Joint Venture existieren eine Reihe weiterer Kooperationsformen für Unternehmen. Möchte einer der Partner beispielsweise kein finanzielles Risiko auf sich nehmen, so bietet sich der Abschluss eines sogenannten Management-Vertrags an. Möchte ein Investor hingegen Kapital einbringen und Synergieeffekte nutzen, jedoch keine Führungsverantwortung übernehmen, ist ein Beteiligungsmodell interessant.

Zudem existieren einige weitere Formen von Gemeinschaftsunternehmen als Alternative zur Gründung eines Joint Ventures. Zu nennen sind insbesondere:

  • Arbeitsgemeinschaften: Zusammenschluss, der sich auf ein bestimmtes Projekt beschränkt (häufig in der Baubranche)
  • Konsortien: Kooperation für zeitlich begrenzte Vorhaben (z. B. zur Abwicklung großvolumiger Aufträge)

Bei beiden Varianten handelt es sich um reine Zweckgemeinschaften, die für kurze Zeiträume gegründet werden.

Am weitesten entfernt vom Joint Venture sind sogenannte strategische Allianzen. Sie beschränken sich im Regelfall auf die Abstimmung von Strategien oder Zielen zwischen zwei oder mehreren Unternehmen.

Beispiele für Joint Ventures

In Deutschland wurden bereits mehrere namhafte Joint Ventures realisiert. Ein Beispiel ist die Volkswagen Autoversicherung AG. Sie wurde im Jahr 2013 von der Allianz und VW gegründet. Das Ziel beider Gesellschaften war es, mehr Autoversicherungen abzuschließen. Mehr als 40 Prozent der VW-Fahrzeuge sollten innerhalb von fünf Jahren direkt mit einem Versicherungsvertrag verkauft werden.

Bereits im Jahr 2009 gründeten die Energiekonzerne E.ON und RWE ein Joint Venture zum Bau von Kernkraftwerken in Großbritannien. Beide Partner haben einen Anteil von 50 Prozent. Die langjährig ausgelegte Kooperation dient unter anderem dem Kauf von Standorten und der Abwicklung komplexer Genehmigungsprozesse. Auch der Neubau und Betrieb der Kernkraftwerke selbst soll durch das Joint Venture erfolgen. Beide Partner bringen ihr Fachwissen, ihre Personalressourcen und auch ihre guten Kenntnisse des britischen Energiemarktes ein.

Meinolf Schaefer01 1444x1444px

Meinolf Schäfer, Senior Director Vertrieb & Marketing

Haben Sie Fragen? Ich helfe gerne weiter.

+49 2241 8845-623

Wir sind ihr Partner bei allen Fragen und Anforderungen rund um SAP. Kontaktieren Sie mich für ein persönliches Gespräch.

Herr
Frau

Hier fehlt noch etwas

*

Hier fehlt noch etwas

*

Hier fehlt noch etwas

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige Telefonnummer ein

*

Ihre gültige E-Mail-Adresse

Hier fehlt noch etwas

Hier fehlt noch etwas

Bitte klicken Sie die reCAPTCHA-Checkbox