IFRS 16 - more transparency with less effort

A lease must be recognized in the balance sheet - this has changed fundamentally with IFRS 16. With the GAMBIT leasing cockpit the processing of leasing transactions can be automated and accelerated.

Motiv32 1444x1444px

A lease must be recognized in the balance sheet - this has changed fundamentally with IFRS 16. With the GAMBIT leasing cockpit the processing of leasing transactions can be automated and accelerated.

IFRS 16: Accounting for leases

1
Everything new ... makes IFRS 16

The new standard has fundamentally changed the accounting treatment of leasing transactions: Since the beginning of 2019, "off-balance sheet" financing of leases is no longer possible.

2
A fully integrated processing of leasing transactions?

Yes, that is possible. For this purpose GAMBIT offers you two solutions at once: on the one hand the SAP standard solution SAP RE-FX and on the other hand the GAMBIT Leasing Cockpit.

3
Inform now - and profit!

With SAP RE-FX or the leasing cockpit, the necessary bookings can be carried out fully automatically, time-saving and IFRS-16 compliant.

4
Would you like to know more?

Then do not hesitate. Get in touch with our specialists today. We will be happy to advise you!

Andre Schwarz 02

André Schwarz, Senior Executive Consultant

Do you need help with the implementation of IFRS 16?

+49 2241 8845 633

Mr.
Mrs.
Divers

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

*

Please enter a valid phone number

*

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail-Adresse ein

Something is missing here

Something is missing here

I agree that my e-mail and, if provided, my telephone number may be collected, processed and used by GAMBIT Consulting GmbH for marketing purposes. The data will not be passed on to third parties. The consent can be revoked at any time. Further information can be found in our privacy policy

Please check the reCAPTCHA checkbox

Implementation of IFRS 16

Application of IFRS 16 has been mandatory since January 1, 2019. The new standard applies to all companies acting as lessees in rental and leasing relationships. But what exactly do CFOs and administrators of SAP systems in companies have to consider? And how can the periodic processing of leasing transactions be simplified?

According to the previously applicable regulations under IAS 17, it was still possible to differentiate between "operating leases" and "finance leases". This meant that operating leasing did not require any accounting - the lessee did not have to account for the leased asset. Although a lessee had to record the payment obligations in the balance sheet, the resulting leasing expenses only had to be recorded in the income statement.

This has now changed fundamentally with the new IFRS 16 standard: Off-balance sheet" financing of leases is no longer possible. Instead, the new standard requires accounting for rights of use and the associated leasing liabilities ("right-of-use approach").

Accordingly, the lessee must in future periodically depreciate the right of use and repay or pay interest on the leasing liability. A depreciation expense and an interest expense are therefore recognized in the income statement.

However, the IASB grants lessees two facilitation options: low-value leases with a new asset value of USD 5,000 and short-term leases with a term of less than twelve months.

Do you already know our solutions in the areas of IFRS 15, SAP Central Finance or SAP FI/CO?

Our IFRS 16 solutions

For companies, IFRS 16 primarily means increased time and effort. This is especially true if they still enter their leases "manually" in Excel or SAP-external applications.

Because this is the case, GAMBIT Consulting offers two solutions with which the periodic processing of leasing transactions can be fully integrated, automated and accelerated: the standard solution of SAP (SAP RE-FX) and an in-house development, the GAMBIT Leasing Cockpit.

The GAMBIT solution is characterized by a particularly simple and transparent operation; furthermore, no license fees are charged for this solution.

Both solutions have numerous advantages for lessees, including:

  • the periodic mass processing of contract valuations
  • the automatic calculation of leasing liabilities and rights of use
  • the evaluation of the lease over the entire life cycle
  • complete integration with SAP (FI-AA, FI-AP and FI-GL)
  • the evaluation of leases to structure the information in the notes to the balance sheet
  • digitization of leasing contracts
  • SAP RE-FX only: Contract management (here: digital image of the contract in paper form)

In addition to IFRS 16, both solutions can also be used to meet the requirements of other regulations: for example, the regulations of US-GAAP ASC 842 and commercial law (HGB).

Precise fitting

In concrete terms, the benefits of the solutions become particularly clear when a company records its leases in Excel, for example. With SAP RE-FX or the Leasingcockpit the necessary periodic amortization and interest reservations can be implemented however "on push of a button" - thus fully automatic, time-saving and IFRS 16-conformal.

Furthermore, the solutions are fully integrated into SAP FI-AA (asset accounting), where companies carry out the periodic depreciation of the usage rights. In addition, the solutions are also integrated into SAP FI-AP (accounts payable) and of course SAP FI-GL (general ledger).

Further advantages result from the direct integration of the solutions: reporting is improved, transparency is increased and the previously required coordination between external tool and SAP is no longer necessary.

In short: the finance department is considerably relieved by the automation of business processes. In addition, the susceptibility to errors is reduced because manual calculations and postings are no longer necessary. Residual leasing liabilities and open payment obligations can be tracked at any time in both solutions (reporting).

You need help?

GAMBIT advises and supports enterprises, if it concerns the new standard IFRS 16: The specialists set up SAP RH-FX or the leasing cockpit, make the integration of the solutions into the SAP modules and advise enterprises also economically. The highest goal is always to minimize the resulting additional expenditure by the new standard for the enterprises.

Especially the implementation of rather inflexible solutions (Excel or other applications which are not fully integrated into SAP) into the more efficient SAP tools requires competences in the areas of finance, accounting and migration - competences which the experts from GAMBIT can demonstrate. This also applies to the special knowledge about SAP RE-FX which only few consulting companies have.

Andre Schwarz 02

André Schwarz, Senior Executive Consultant

Do you have any questions?

+49 2241 8845 633

I will gladly help you.

Mr.
Mrs.
Divers

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

*

Please enter a valid phone number

*

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail-Adresse ein

Something is missing here

Something is missing here

I agree that my e-mail and, if provided, my telephone number may be collected, processed and used by GAMBIT Consulting GmbH for marketing purposes. The data will not be passed on to third parties. The consent can be revoked at any time. Further information can be found in our privacy policy

Please check the reCAPTCHA checkbox

IFRS 16 - mehr Transparenz bei weniger Aufwand

Ein Leasingverhältnis zu bilanzieren – mit IFRS 16 hat sich das grundlegend geändert. Mit dem GAMBIT-Leasingcockpit lässt sich die Abwicklung von Leasinggeschäften automatisieren und beschleunigen.

IFRS16_mehr_Transparenz_Motiv32 1444x1444px

Ein Leasingverhältnis zu bilanzieren – mit IFRS 16 hat sich das grundlegend geändert. Mit dem GAMBIT-Leasingcockpit lässt sich die Abwicklung von Leasinggeschäften automatisieren und beschleunigen.

IFRS 16: Bilanzierung von Leasingverhältnissen

Alles neu ... macht IFRS 16

Der neue Standard hat die Bilanzierung von Leasinggeschäften fundamental verändert: Eine „außerbilanzielle“ Finanzierung von Leasingverhältnissen ist seit Anfang 2019 nicht mehr möglich.

Eine vollintegrierte Abwicklung von Leasinggeschäften?

Ja, das ist möglich. GAMBIT bietet Ihnen dazu gleich zwei Lösungen an: zum einen die SAP-Standard-Lösung SAP RE-FX und zum anderen das GAMBIT-Leasingcockpit.

Jetzt informieren – und profitieren!

Mit SAP RE-FX oder dem Leasingcockpit lassen sich die erforderlichen Buchungen vollautomatisch, zeitsparend und IFRS-16-konform ausführen.

Sie möchten mehr erfahren?

Dann zögern Sie nicht. Nehmen Sie noch heute Kontakt zu unseren Spezialisten auf. Wir beraten Sie gerne!

Einführung von IFRS 16

IFRS 16 ist seit dem 1. Januar 2019 verpflichtend anzuwenden. Der neue Standard gilt für alle Unternehmen, die in Miet- und Leasingverhältnissen als Leasingnehmer auftreten. Was aber genau müssen CFOs und Administratoren von SAP-Systemen in Unternehmen nun beachten? Und wie lässt sich die periodische Abwicklung von Leasinggeschäften vereinfachen?

Gemäß den bisher geltenden Vorschriften nach IAS 17 war es noch möglich, Leasingverhältnisse nach „Operate-Leasing“ und „Finance-Leasing“ zu unterscheiden. Das bedeutete, dass das operative Leasing keine Bilanzierung erforderlich machte – der Leasinggegenstand musste also durch den Leasingnehmer nicht bilanziert werden. Ein Leasingnehmer musste zwar die Zahlungsverpflichtungen in der Bilanz, die daraus resultierenden Leasingaufwände aber lediglich in der Gewinn- und Verlustrechnung erfassen.

Mit dem neuen Standard IFRS 16 hat sich das nun grundlegend geändert: Eine „außerbilanzielle“ Finanzierung von Leasingverhältnissen („Off-Balance-Sheet“) gibt es jetzt nicht mehr. Der neue Standard verlangt vielmehr eine Bilanzierung von Nutzungsrechten und den dazugehörigen Leasingverbindlichkeiten („Right-of-Use-Ansatz“).

Demnach muss der Leasingnehmer das Nutzungsrecht zukünftig periodisch abschreiben und die Leasingverbindlichkeit tilgen bzw. verzinsen. In der Gewinn- und Verlustrechnung werden somit ein Abschreibungs- sowie ein Zinsaufwand erfasst.

Das IASB räumt Leasingnehmern aber zwei Erleichterungswahlrechte ein: als Ausnahmen gelten geringwertige Leasingverhältnisse mit einem Vermögensneuwert von 5.000 Dollar und kurzläufige Leasingverhältnisse mit einer Laufzeit unter zwölf Monaten.


Kennen Sie schon unsere Lösungen in den Bereichen IFRS 15, SAP Central Finance oder SAP FI/CO?

Unsere IFRS 16 Lösungen

Für Unternehmen bedeutet IFRS 16 vor allem einen erhöhten Zeit- und Arbeitsaufwand. Dies gilt vor allem dann, wenn sie ihre Leasingverhältnisse noch „manuell“ in Excel oder SAP-externen Anwendungen erfassen.

Weil das so ist, bietet GAMBIT Consulting gleich zwei Lösungen an, mit denen die periodische Abwicklung von Leasinggeschäften vollintegriert, automatisiert und beschleunigt werden kann: die Standard-Lösung von SAP (SAP RE-FX) und eine Eigenentwicklung, das GAMBIT-Leasingcockpit.

Die GAMBIT-Lösung zeichnet sich dabei vor allem durch eine besonders einfache und transparente Bedienung aus; zudem fallen für diese Lösung keine Lizenzgebühren an.

Beide Lösungen haben für Leasingnehmer zahlreiche Vorteile, dazu gehören unter anderem:

• die periodische Massenverarbeitung von Vertragsbewertungen

• die automatische Berechnung von Leasingverbindlichkeiten und Nutzungsrechten

• die Bewertung des Leasingverhältnisses über den gesamten Lebenszyklus

• die vollständige Integration in SAP (FI-AA, FI-AP und FI-GL)

• die Auswertung von Leasingverhältnissen zum Aufbau der Angaben im Bilanzanhang

• Digitalisierung von Leasingverträgen

• nur SAP RE-FX: Vertragsmanagement (hier: digitales Abbild des Vertrags in Papierform)

Mit beiden Lösungen können – neben IFRS 16 – zudem die Anforderungen weiterer Vorschriften erfüllt werden: zum Beispiel die Vorschriften des US-GAAP ASC 842 und des Handelsrechts (HGB).

Passgenaue Anpassung

Konkret wird der Nutzen der Lösungen vor allem dann deutlich, wenn ein Unternehmen seine Leasingverhältnisse bisher zum Beispiel noch in Excel erfasst. Mit SAP RE-FX oder dem Leasingcockpit lassen sich die erforderlichen periodischen Tilgungs- und Zinsbuchungen hingegen „auf Knopfdruck“ ausführen – also vollautomatisch, zeitsparend und IFRS-16-konform.

Weiterhin liegt eine vollständige Integration der Lösungen in SAP FI-AA (Anlagenbuchhaltung) vor; dort führen Unternehmen die periodischen Abschreibungen der Nutzungsrechte durch. Zudem sind die Lösungen ebenfalls in SAP FI-AP (Kreditorenbuchhaltung) und selbstverständlich SAP FI-GL (Hauptbuchhaltung) integriert.

Aus der direkten Integration der Lösungen ergeben sich weitere Vorteile: das Reporting wird verbessert, die Transparenz erhöht und die bisher erforderliche Abstimmung zwischen externem Tool und SAP entfällt.

Kurzum: Die Finanzabteilung wird durch die Automatisierung der Geschäftsprozesse erheblich entlastet. Außerdem sinkt die Fehleranfälligkeit, weil sich manuelle Berechnungen und Buchungen erübrigen. Restleasingverbindlichkeiten und offene Zahlungsverpflichtungen lassen sich zu jedem Zeitpunkt in beiden Lösungen nachvollziehen (Reporting).

Sie benötigen Hilfe?

GAMBIT berät und unterstützt Unternehmen, wenn es um den neuen Standard IFRS 16 geht: Die Spezialisten richten SAP RE-FX oder das Leasingcockpit ein, nehmen die Integration der Lösungen in die SAP-Module vor und beraten Unternehmen auch betriebswirtschaftlich. Oberstes Ziel ist es immer, den sich ergebenden Mehraufwand durch den neuen Standard für die Unternehmen zu minimieren.

Gerade die Umsetzung von eher unflexiblen Lösungen (Excel oder sonstige nicht in SAP vollintegrierte Applikationen) in die effizienteren SAP-Tools erfordert Kompetenzen in den Bereichen Finance, Rechnungslegung und Migration – Kompetenzen, wie sie die Experten von GAMBIT vorweisen können. Dies gilt ebenso für das Spezialwissen zu SAP RE-FX, über das nur wenige Beratungsunternehmen verfügen.

Andre Schwarz Kopf Quadrat

André Schwarz, Senior Project Manager

Haben Sie Fragen?

02241 8845 633

Ich helfe Ihnen gerne weiter.

Herr
Frau

Hier fehlt noch etwas

*

Hier fehlt noch etwas

*

Hier fehlt noch etwas

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige Telefonnummer ein

*

Ihre gültige E-Mail-Adresse

Hier fehlt noch etwas

Hier fehlt noch etwas

Bitte klicken Sie die reCAPTCHA-Checkbox