What was the SAP Cloud Platform?

The SAP Cloud Platform was a Platform-as-a-Service offering from SAP. The brand's services have been available via the SAP Business Technology Platform since the beginning of 2021.

In a nutshell: SAP Cloud Platform no longer exists

The SAP Cloud Platform brand no longer exists. However, the technical possibilities remain - they can now be used via the SAP Business Technology Platform (BTP). SAP thus wants to create a uniform technology basis for all SAP applications.

Overview: Current changes

SAP deleted the product and brand name "SAP Cloud Platform" at the beginning of 2021.

The SAP Cloud Platform had been around since 2012, initially as SAP HANA Cloud. The SAP Cloud Platform was a platform for extending and integrating on-premise or cloud systems. It was a Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS) solution.

Via the SAP Cloud Platform, companies and SAP users could, for example, develop new applications and apps - such as in the area of the Internet of Things (IoT), machine learning or blockchain. The open platform thus served as an innovation platform because companies could use it to launch entirely new cloud-based applications.

All of this is still possible. The diverse extension and integration functions of the SAP Cloud Platform remain and are now available via the SAP Business Technology Platform (BTP).

The services are now divided into two suites:

  • SAP Integration Suite (enterprise application integration) is the integration layer of the BTP and offers services and functions that connect applications, processes, people or devices. SAP Integration Suite is an Enterprise Integration Platform-as-a-Service (EiPaaS).
  • The SAP Extension Suite (Application Development and Extension) is the extension layer of the BTP. It offers over 80 different services and functions to make application development easier to implement.

Together with other offerings of the BTP (database management, intelligent technologies, etc.), the two offerings now form the basis for the digital transformation of companies in the cloud.

Why has SAP abolished the SAP Cloud Platform as a product and brand?

With the SAP Business Technology Platform, SAP wants to create what it calls a "uniform, open and business-oriented technology basis for all SAP applications". Running several platforms side by side makes no sense. However, the functions and services of the SAP Cloud Platform remain available via the BTP.

What do I have to do if I work with the SAP Cloud Platform?

The brand name is no longer used. However, the functionality does not change. The services and functions of the previous SAP Cloud Platform are now available via the SAP Integration Suite and the SAP Extension Suite of the SAP Business Technology Platform.

Is the test version for the SAP Cloud Platform still available?

The test version is still available - it is now called the SAP-BTP test version. The SAP Cloud Platform Cockpit also has a new name and is now called SAP-BTP Cockpit. However, the functionalities of the test version and cockpit remain unchanged.

Will anything change in the prices or agreements (CPEA)?

According to SAP, the end of the SAP Cloud Platform brand name has no influence on the pricing structure or agreements with regard to the Cloud Platform Enterprise Agreement (CPEA).

You have questions?

Do you have questions about the changes to SAP Cloud Platform and the elimination of the brand? Do you use SAP ERP or SAP S/4HANA and would like to expand your systems and your landscape with the help of the Business Technology Platform? Are you interested in new applications such as Machine Learning or the Internet of Things or would you like to use the possibilities of HANA technology?

Get in touch with us. We will be happy to help you. The experts at GAMBIT will support you in using the Business Technology Platform, develop applications and apps for you or expand your existing SAP ERP and SAP S/4HANA systems.

Meinolf Schaefer01 1444x1444px

Meinolf Schäfer, Senior Director Sales & Marketing

Do you have any questions? I will be glad to help you.

+49 2241 8845-623

Mr.
Mrs.
Divers

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

*

Please enter a valid phone number

*

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail-Adresse ein

Something is missing here

Something is missing here

I agree that my e-mail and, if provided, my telephone number may be collected, processed and used by GAMBIT Consulting GmbH for marketing purposes. The data will not be passed on to third parties. The consent can be revoked at any time. Further information can be found in our privacy policy

Please check the reCAPTCHA checkbox

Was war die SAP Cloud Platform?

Die SAP Cloud Platform war ein Platform-as-a-Service-Angebot der SAP. Die Services der Marke stehen seit Anfang 2021 über die SAP Business Technology Platform zur Verfügung.

Kurz zusammengefasst: Die SAP Cloud Platform gibt es nicht mehr

Die Marke SAP Cloud Platform existiert nicht mehr. Die technischen Möglichkeiten aber bleiben erhalten – sie können nun über die SAP Business Technology Platform (BTP) genutzt werden. SAP will so eine einheitliche Technologiebasis für alle SAP-Anwendungen schaffen.

Überblick: Aktuelle Veränderungen

Den Produkt- und Markennamen „SAP Cloud Platform“ hat SAP Anfang 2021 gelöscht.

Die SAP Cloud Platform gab es seit 2012, damals zunächst als SAP HANA Cloud. Die SAP Cloud Platform war eine Plattform zur Erweiterung und Integration von On-Premise- oder Cloud-Systemen. Es handelte sich um eine Platform-as-a-Service-Lösung (PaaS).

Über die SAP Cloud Platform konnten Unternehmen und SAP-Nutzer zum Beispiel neue Anwendungen und Applikationen entwickeln – etwa im Bereich Internet der Dinge (IoT), maschinelles Lernen (Machine Learning) oder Blockchain. Die offene Plattform diente somit als Innovationsplattform, weil Unternehmen mit ihrer Hilfe ganz neue, Cloud-basierte Anwendungen auf den Weg bringen konnten.

Möglich ist dies alles nach wie vor. Die vielfältigen Erweiterungs- und Integrationsfunktionen der SAP Cloud Platform bleiben erhalten und stehen nun über die SAP Business Technology Platform (BTP) zur Verfügung.

Unterteilt sind die Services jetzt in zwei Suiten:

  • Die SAP Integration Suite (Integration von Unternehmensanwendungen) ist die Integrationsschicht der BTP und bietet Services und Funktionen, die Anwendungen, Prozesse, Menschen oder Geräte miteinander verbinden. Die SAP Integration Suite ist eine Enterprise-Integration-Platform-as-a-Service (EiPaaS).
  • Die SAP Extension Suite (Anwendungsentwicklung und Erweiterung) ist die Erweiterungsschicht der BTP. Sie bietet über 80 verschiedene Services und Funktionen, um die Entwicklung von Anwendungen leichter umsetzen zu können.

Zusammen mit anderen Angeboten der BTP (Datenbankmanagement, intelligente Technologien, etc.) bilden die beiden Angebote nun die Grundlage für die digitale Transformation von Unternehmen in der Cloud.

Warum hat SAP die SAP Cloud Platform als Produkt und Marke abgeschafft?

Mit der SAP Business Technology Platform möchte SAP eine – nach eigenen Angaben – „einheitliche, offene und geschäftsorientierte Technologiebasis für alle SAP-Anwendungen“ schaffen. Mehrere Plattformen nebeneinander zu betreiben, macht keinen Sinn. Die Funktionen und Services der SAP Cloud Platform bleiben über die BTP aber erhalten.

Was muss ich tun, wenn ich mit der SAP Cloud Platform arbeite?

Der Markenname wird nicht mehr genutzt. Die Funktionalität verändert sich aber nicht. Die Services und Funktionen der bisherigen SAP Cloud Platform stehen nun über die SAP Integration Suite und die SAP Extension Suite der SAP Business Technology Platform zur Verfügung.

Gibt es die Testversion für die SAP Cloud Platform noch?

Die Testversion gibt es nach wie vor – sie heißt nun SAP-BTP-Testversion. Auch das SAP Cloud-Platform-Cockpit hat einen neuen Namen und nennt sich jetzt SAP-BTP-Cockpit. An den Funktionalitäten von Testversion und Cockpit ändert sich allerdings nichts.

Ändert sich etwas bei den Preisen oder Vereinbarungen (CPEA)?

Das Ende des Markennamens SAP Cloud Platform hat laut SAP keinen Einfluss auf die Preisstruktur oder auf die Vereinbarungen im Hinblick auf das Cloud Platform Enterprise Agreement (CPEA).

Sie haben Fragen?

Sie haben Fragen zu den Veränderungen bei der SAP Cloud Platform und der Abschaffung der Marke? Sie nutzen SAP ERP oder SAP S/4HANA und möchten Ihre Systeme und ihre Landschaft mit Hilfe der Business Technology Platform erweitern? Sie interessieren sich für neue Anwendungen wie Machine Learning oder das Internet der Dinge oder möchten die Möglichkeiten der HANA-Technologie nutzen?

Sprechen Sie uns an. Wir helfen Ihnen gerne. Die Experten der GAMBIT unterstützen Sie bei der Nutzung der Business Technology Platform, entwickeln Applikationen und Anwendungen für Sie oder erweitern Ihre bestehenden SAP ERP- und SAP S/4HANA-Syteme.

Team Meinolf Schaefer 1

Meinolf Schäfer, Senior Director Sales & Marketing

Haben Sie Fragen? Ich helfe Ihnen gerne.

+49 2241 8845-623

Wir sind ihr Partner bei allen Fragen und Anforderungen rund um SAP. Kontaktieren Sie mich für ein persönliches Gespräch.

Herr
Frau
Divers

Hier fehlt noch etwas

*

Hier fehlt noch etwas

*

Hier fehlt noch etwas

*

Wir brauchen noch eine gültige Telefonnummer von dir

*

Deine Email Adresse passt noch nicht

Hier fehlt noch etwas

Hier fehlt noch etwas

Ich bin damit einverstanden, dass meine E-Mail und, falls angegeben, meine Telefonnummer durch die GAMBIT Consulting GmbH für Marketing-Zwecke erhoben, verarbeitet und genutzt wird. Es erfolgt keine Weitergabe der Daten an Dritte. Die Einwilligung kann jederzeit widerrufen werden. Weitere Informationen sind in unserer Datenschutzerklärung zu finden. 

Bitte klicken Sie die reCAPTCHA-Checkbox