SAP ABAP

ABAP is a proprietary programming language that was developed for programming applications in the SAP context. It is basically similar to the COBOL programming language.

Anyone who gets to grips with SAP will sooner or later come across the term SAP ABAP. It is mostly known that this is a programming language. But where are the differences to other languages? How was SAP ABAP developed, how is it used in practice and is it still relevant in times of SAP S/4 HANA? This article deals comprehensively and comprehensibly with these and other questions concerning SAP ABAP.

What is SAP ABAP?

SAP ABAP is SAP's proprietary programming language. It was introduced in 1983. The abbreviation once meant "general report preparation processor", as companies could originally only program reports with the language. However, changes to the database table were not possible. This was followed by further developments of the ABAP language scope, in the context of which the name meaning of ABAP was finally changed to "Advanced Business Application Programming". This expresses that SAP ABAP is intended for the development of commercial applications. Since 1990 and the introduction of SAP R/3, all SAP modules have been based on ABAP. ABAP Objects (ABAP OO for short) was also an important addition, as this enabled object-oriented programming.

What can be implemented with the SAP ABAP programming language?

Initially, SAP ABAP is used by SAP SE programmers to develop new applications and statements, function modules, and updates for existing program parts. We are also talking here about the so-called SAP standard. However, despite the wide range of variants and numerous industry solutions, the language scope of this standard is often not sufficient to completely cover the individual requirements of companies. This is where internal or external SAP programmers come in, using SAP ABAP to develop solutions to close this gap. The possibilities are manifold and include not only the system basis but also all SAP modules such as finance, human resources, production, logistics, sales and purchasing. Just a few examples of how ABAP can be used:

  • Development of own database tables
  • Programming of individual user interfaces
  • Development of own transactions
  • Design of reports
  • Generate specific lists
  • Creation of new processes and instructions

What are the technical features of SAP ABAP?

The syntax of SAP ABAP is similar to the programming language COBOL, which was developed in the 1950s and is still in use. COBOL (Common Business Oriented Language) is clearly based on the natural language and is used in particular for commercial applications. The situation is very similar in SAP ABAP. SAP ABAP is also a so-called 4GL language (fourth generation language). Programming languages of this kind are designed to generate code as quickly as possible and with just a few lines of code. Furthermore, SAP ABAP is ideally suited for processing large amounts of data within commercial applications.

While elementary languages store their functions in libraries, SAP ABAP takes a different approach, which is characterized as follows:

  • Database accesses are integrated into the source code via Open SQL statements.
  • SAP buffering provides optimized performance for database access.
  • Mass data in the working memory is stored dynamically in internal tables.
  • OLTP (Online Transaction Processing) enables numerous users to access the database table at the same time.

There are also two main interfaces for SAP ABAP:

  • Interface to other programming environments via RFC (Remote Function Call); enables calling of functions from remote systems
  • XML interface

Although the integration of these functions and statements improves the speed and verifiability of programs, the large number of language elements also makes SAP ABAP complex.

Do SAP ABAP programs have downward compatibility?

SAP ABAP was originally a procedural programming model based on individual function modules and subroutines. As of ABAP Release 6.10, you can also use object-oriented commands (classes and interfaces). This is referred to as ABAP Objects, or ABAP OO for short (see next section for details).

From the outset, SAP has followed the principle of downward compatibility with ABAP. This means that old instructions do not lose their validity if they are replaced by new instructions. Altanweisungen therefore continue to exist, which over time leads to a considerable amount of language. Although the old elements should no longer be used, this is certainly possible. It should also be mentioned that ABAP and ABAP OO can be used together, i.e. are interoperable. If ABAP OO is used, old SAP ABAP language elements (with a few exceptions) can also continue to be used.

The advantage of this approach is obvious: Internally developed functions and programs always remain functional. Existing developments do not need to be updated. When programming, you should nevertheless make sure that you no longer use the old components, but instead use current and more powerful ABAP language elements. It is also possible to combine old and new components. Procedural elements can be used in object-oriented source code. The reverse case (object-oriented elements in ABAP procedural coding) is also possible. If old and new components are specifically combined, this can increase the effectiveness of the ABAP programming language.

What is ABAP Objects (ABAP OO)?

ABAP OO is an extension of SAP ABAP. It adds object-oriented concepts and elements to the programming language. The goal is to simplify application development through modularization. Put simply, source code can be encapsulated in clear, reusable modules of statements, which significantly reduces effort. ABAP OO also allows you to predefine the structures of objects abstractly and pass them on to subclasses. ABAP OO has been fully integrated into the SAP standard since Release 4.6. Previously, it was only possible to combine function modules of statements into function groups.

In addition to simplified programming, ABAP OO improves application performance. Unnecessary database queries are avoided. In addition, competing accesses to databases can be reduced.

Compared to other programming languages that are based on objects, ABAP OO has some special features. A class always has two constructors - an instance constructor and a static constructor. Constructors are procedures that are used to create objects. The instance constructor is executed automatically each time objects are created, thus initializing individual instances. The static constructor, on the other hand, is executed only once before the first access to a class.

Other special features of ABAP OO are:

  • Single inheritance: Each class can inherit structures from only one superclass. However, several subclasses are possible.
  • Grouping of interfaces: Several existing interfaces can be grouped together in a new interface.
  • Object Services Framework: Includes a Persistence Service, a Transaction Service, and a Query Service, simplifying the development of object-oriented applications.

How does programming with SAP ABAP work?

The creation of new programs with SAP ABAP takes place in several process steps:

  • Programming in the development environment
  • Transport of changed objects into a test/consolidation environment
  • Test, release and transport into the production system

SAP provides programmers with a development environment for writing source code in ABAP. This has the name ABAP Workbench. Existing programs are presented here in the form of a tree structure, structured according to content.

From a technical point of view, code and data types are strictly separated in SAP ABAP. If you want to define globally valid tables and data types, you do this in the Data Dictionary. In addition to the technical properties of the program, documentation for data types is also stored here.

The SAP ABAP programs themselves are stored in the central SAP database table. This distinguishes ABAP from other programming languages, where applications are often separate files. Within the database, the code is available as source code that can be displayed with the ABAP Workbench Tools. On the other hand, it also exists as generated code in a binary representation (similar to Java bytecode).

Since SAP must be executable at all times, source code is not developed in the production system. New programs must therefore be imported from the development environment into the subsequent systems using transport requests. The exact time of these transports can be defined. This is often done at night or on non-working days, especially for more extensive changes.

ABAP in Eclipse as Successor to the Workbench

The ABAP Workbench has always been criticized for its moderate ease of use. Small help features such as forward navigation, where you can jump directly to table definitions or variable declarations with a double-click, could not contribute significantly to the improvement. With the new ABAP development environment "ABAP in Eclipse", SAP has been offering an alternative or successor to the Workbench since 2012.

SAP ABAP in Eclipse was specially designed for agile software development. In addition to existing ABAP Workbench functions, some new features have been added. Examples are

  • Syntax Highlighting (syntax highlighting)
  • Code Completion (autocompletion of source code)
  • Refactoring (structural improvement of source texts, also applicable for renaming variables and methods)

In addition, ABAP in Eclipse can be very flexibly adapted to individual scenarios using plug-ins. Tests for higher code quality can also be implemented. A new debugger rounds off the modern ABAP development environment in Eclipse.

SAP ABAP and Security

As in any application, SAP ABAP programs can have security gaps. These arise mainly from the ignorance and carelessness of ABAP developers or from a lack of transparency, since the enormous amounts of code are almost impossible to oversee manually.

The most common error in ABAP custom developments is a missing or poorly programmed authorization check. This makes it possible for unauthorized employees to access certain information and misuse the data. Even more dangerous, however, are vulnerabilities that allow external attackers to gain control over SAP systems. In this case, criminals are potentially in a position to manipulate, delete or steal entire SAP databases.

Several measures are required to minimize the risks associated with missing ABAP source codes. In particular, the following aspects should be mentioned:

  • Ongoing safety training for internal programmers
  • For external service providers: include code quality standards in agreements
  • Scan of self-developed ABAP codes for vulnerabilities (possible with special software)
  • Import security patches promptly
  • Establish contingency plans in the event of successful attacks

What role does ABAP play in SAP S/4 HANA?

With the introduction of SAP S/4 HANA technology, a new era has dawned for SAP software. Both the user guidance and the data models have been significantly simplified. The database is no longer located on a database server, but with the program data in the main memory of the application server. Database and application are therefore merged in SAP S/4 HANA. This has resulted in various changes for ABAP developers.

First, the focus shifted from command instructions to a functional orientation. For performance reasons, it is also recommended that you program HANA in SAP S/4 with Native SQL (formerly Open SQL). The source code has been moved from the programs to the database layer. This means that programming takes place directly on the database, which is no longer possible with the familiar SAP ABAP. Developers therefore had to learn and use SQLScript as a new programming language for SAP S/4 HANA.

However, since the introduction of SAP S/4 HANA, SAP ABAP programming has been considerably simplified. While complex data modeling (analytical views) was initially required for data selections, the simpler ABAP CDS views are now sufficient. Predefined data models ensure that developers can conveniently access related data during programming.

Meinolf Schaefer01 1444x1444px

Meinolf Schäfer, Senior Director Sales & Marketing

Do you have any questions? I will be glad to help you.

+49 2241 8845-623

We are your partner for all questions and requirements around SAP. Contact us for a personal conversation.

Mr.
Mrs.

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

Please enter a valid phone number

*

Your valid email adress

Something is missing here

Something is missing here

Please check the reCAPTCHA checkbox

SAP ABAP

ABAP ist eine proprietäre Programmiersprache, die für die Programmierung von Anwendungen im SAP-Kontext entwickelt wurde und in Grundzügen Ähnlichkeit zur Programmiersprache COBOL aufweist.

Wer sich näher mit SAP auseinandersetzt, stößt früher oder später auf den Begriff SAP ABAP. Dass es sich um eine Programmiersprache handelt, ist meist bekannt. Doch wo liegen die Unterschiede zu anderen Sprachen? Wie entstand SAP ABAP, wie wird es in der Praxis eingesetzt und ist es in Zeiten von SAP S/4 HANA nach wie vor relevant? Dieser Artikel geht umfassend und verständlich auf diese und weitere Fragestellungen rund um SAP ABAP ein.

Was ist SAP ABAP?

Bei SAP ABAP handelt es sich um die hauseigene (proprietäre) Programmiersprache von SAP. Sie wurde im Jahr 1983 eingeführt. Ausgeschrieben bedeutete die Abkürzung einst „Allgemeiner Berichtsaufbereitungsprozessor“, da Unternehmen mit der Sprache ursprünglich nur Reports programmieren konnten. Veränderungen an der Datenbanktabelle waren jedoch nicht möglich. Es folgten Weiterentwicklungen des Sprachumfangs von ABAP, in deren Rahmen die Namensbedeutung von ABAP schließlich auf „Advanced Business Application Programming“ geändert wurde. Dies drückt aus, dass SAP ABAP für die Entwicklung kommerzieller Anwendungen vorgesehen ist. Bereits seit 1990 und der Einführung von SAP R/3 basieren sämtliche SAP-Module auf ABAP. Eine wichtige Ergänzung war zudem ABAP Objects (kurz ABAP OO), da hierdurch eine objektorientierte Programmierung ermöglicht wurde.

Was kann mit der Programmiersprache SAP ABAP umgesetzt werden?

Zunächst wird SAP ABAP selbstverständlich von den Programmierern der SAP SE eingesetzt, um neue Anwendungen und Anweisungen, Funktionsbausteine und Updates zu bestehenden Programmteilen zu entwickeln. Die Rede ist hierbei auch vom sogenannten SAP-Standard. Trotz des Variantenreichtums und zahlreicher Branchenlösungen reicht der Sprachumfang dieses Standards jedoch oftmals nicht aus, um die individuellen Anforderungen von Unternehmen vollständig abzudecken. An dieser Stelle kommen interne oder externe SAP-Programmierer ins Spiel, die mithilfe von SAP ABAP Lösungen entwickeln, um diese Lücke zu schließen. Die Möglichkeiten gestalten sich vielfältig und umfassen neben der Systembasis sämtliche SAP-Module wie Finanzwesen, Human Resources, Produktion, Logistik, Vertrieb und Einkauf. Nur einige Beispiele für die Einsatzmöglichkeiten von ABAP sind:

  • Entwicklung eigener Datenbanktabellen
  • Programmierung individueller Benutzeroberflächen
  • Entwicklung eigener Transaktionen
  • Gestaltung von Reports
  • Generieren von spezifischen Listen
  • Erstellung neuer Prozesse und Anweisungen

Welche Eigenschaften hat SAP ABAP aus technischer Sicht?

In ihrer Syntax gleicht SAP ABAP der Programmiersprache COBOL, die bereits in den 1950er Jahren entstand und immer noch im Einsatz ist. COBOL (Common Business Oriented Language) ist deutlich an die natürliche Sprache angelehnt und wird insbesondere für kaufmännische Applikationen genutzt. Sehr ähnlich verhält es sich auch in SAP ABAP. Zudem ist SAP ABAP eine sogenannte 4GL-Sprache (fourth generation language). Programmiersprachen dieser Art sind darauf ausgelegt, Code möglichst schnell und mit wenigen Codezeilen zu erstellen. Weiterhin eignet sich die SAP ABAP ideal für die Verarbeitung großer Datenmengen innerhalb kommerzieller Anwendungen.

Während elementare Sprachen ihre Funktionen in Bibliotheken legen, geht SAP ABAP einen anderen Weg, der wie folgt charakterisiert ist:

  • Datenbankzugriffe werden über Open SQL Statements in den Quellcode eingebunden.
  • SAP-Pufferung sorgt für optimierte Performance bei Datenbankzugriffen.
  • Massendaten im Arbeitsspeicher werden in internen Tabellen dynamisch gespeichert.
  • OLTP (Online Transaction Processing) ermöglicht, dass zahlreiche Benutzer gleichzeitig auf die Datenbanktabelle zugreifen können.

Zudem existieren im Wesentlichen zwei Schnittstellen für SAP ABAP:

  • Schnittstelle zu anderen Programmierumgebungen via RFC (Remote Function Call); ermöglicht den Aufruf von Funktionen aus entfernten Systemen
  • XML-Schnittstelle

Zwar begünstigt die Integration dieser Funktionen und Anweisungen die Geschwindigkeit und Überprüfbarkeit von Programmen, die Vielzahl von Sprachelementen macht SAP ABAP jedoch auch komplex.

Besitzen SAP ABAP-Programme eine Abwärtskompatibilität?

SAP ABAP ist ursprünglich ein prozedurales Programmiermodell, das auf einzelnen Funktionsbausteinen und Unterprogrammen basiert. Seit dem ABAP Release 6.10 können jedoch auch objektorientierte Befehle (Klassen und Interfaces) genutzt werden. Dies erfolgt unter der Begrifflichkeit ABAP Objects, kurz ABAP OO (Details im nächsten Abschnitt).

Von Beginn an verfolgt SAP mit ABAP das Prinzip der Abwärtskompatibilität. Das heißt: Alte Anweisungen verlieren nicht ihre Gültigkeit, wenn sie durch neue Anweisungen ersetzt werden. Altanweisungen existieren also weiterhin, was im Laufe der Zeit zu einem erheblichen Sprachumfang führt. Zwar sollten die alten Elemente nicht mehr zum Einsatz kommen, möglich ist dies aber durchaus. Weiterhin ist zu erwähnen, das ABAP und ABAP OO gemeinsam eingesetzt werden können, also interoperabel sind. Wird ABAP OO verwendet, lassen sich alte Sprachelemente von SAP ABAP (bis auf wenige Ausnahmen) demnach ebenfalls weiter einsetzen.

Der Vorteil dieses Ansatzes liegt auf der Hand: Eigenentwickelte Funktionen und Programme bleiben stets funktionsfähig. Bestehende Entwicklungen müssen nicht aktualisiert werden. Bei der Programmierung sollte dennoch darauf geachtet werden, die alten Komponenten nicht mehr einzusetzen, sondern aktuelle und performantere Sprachelemente von ABAP zu nutzen. Weiterhin besteht die Möglichkeit, alte und neue Bestandteile zu kombinieren. In objektorientiertem Quellcode können prozedurale Elemente verwendet werden. Auch der umgekehrte Fall (objektorientierter Elemente im prozeduralen Coding von ABAP) ist möglich. Werden alte und neue Bestandteile gezielt zusammengefügt, kann dies die Effektivität der Programmiersprache ABAP erhöhen.

Was ist ABAP Objects (ABAP OO)?

ABAP OO ist eine Erweiterung von SAP ABAP. Sie fügt der Programmiersprache objektorientierte Konzepte und Elemente hinzu. Das Ziel ist die Vereinfachung der Anwendungsentwicklung durch Modularisierung. Vereinfacht ausgedrückt: Quellcode kann in übersichtlichen, wiederverwendbaren Modulen von Anweisungen gekapselt werden, wodurch sich Aufwände deutlich reduzieren. Zudem lassen sich mit ABAP OO die Strukturen von Objekten abstrakt vordefinieren und an Unterklassen vererben. Bereits seit dem Release 4.6 ist ABAP OO vollständig in den SAP-Standard integriert. Vorher war es lediglich möglich, Funktionsbausteine von Anweisungen zu sogenannten Funktionsgruppen zusammenzufassen.

Neben der vereinfachten Programmierung verbessert ABAP OO die Anwendungsperformance. Unnötige Datenbankabfragen werden vermieden. Zudem lassen sich konkurrierende Zugriffe auf Datenbanken reduzieren.

Im Vergleich zu anderen Programmiersprachen, die auf Objekten basieren, existieren in ABAP OO einige Besonderheiten. So verfügt eine Klasse stets über zwei Konstruktoren - einen Instanzkonstruktor und einen statischen Konstruktor. Konstruktoren sind hierbei Prozeduren, die zum Erzeugen von Objekten verwendet werden. Der Instanzkonstruktor wird bei jeder Erzeugung von Objekten automatisch ausgeführt und initialisiert somit einzelne Instanzen. Der statische Konstruktor wird hingegen nur einmal vor dem ersten Zugriff auf eine Klasse ausgeführt.

Weitere Besonderheiten von ABAP OO sind:

  • Einfachvererbung: Jede Klasse kann Strukturen nur von einer Oberklasse erben. Mehrere Unterklassen sind jedoch möglich.
  • Zusammenfassung von Interfaces: Mehrere vorhandene Interfaces können in einem neuen Interface zusammengefasst werden.
  • Object Services Framework: Beinhaltet einen Persistenzdienst, einen Transaktionsdienst sowie einen Query-Dienst, wodurch die Entwicklung objekt-orientierter Anwendungen vereinfacht wird.

Wie läuft die Programmierung mit SAP ABAP ab?

Die Erstellung neuer Programme mit SAP ABAP erfolgt in mehreren Prozessschritten:

  • Programmierung in der Entwicklungsumgebung
  • Transport der geänderten Objekte in eine Test-/Konsolidierungsumgebung
  • Test, Freigabe und Transport in das Produktivsystem

Für das Schreiben von Quellcode in ABAP stellt SAP Programmierern eine Entwicklungsumgebung zur Verfügung. Diese trägt den Namen ABAP Workbench. Bereits vorhandene Programme werden hier in Form einer Baumstruktur - gegliedert nach inhaltlichen Gesichtspunkten - dargestellt.

Aus technischer Sicht werden Code und Datentypen in SAP ABAP strikt voneinander getrennt. Sollen global gültige Tabellen und Datentypen definiert werden, erfolgt dies im sogenannten Data Dictionary. Hier werden neben den programmtechnischen Eigenschaften auch Dokumentationen für Datentypen abgelegt.

Die SAP ABAP-Programme selbst werden in der zentralen SAP-Datenbanktabelle gespeichert. Dies unterscheidet ABAP von anderen Programmiersprachen, bei denen Anwendungen häufig separate Dateien sind. Innerhalb der Datenbank liegt der Code einerseits als Quellcode vor, der sich mit den ABAP Workbench Tools anzeigen lässt. Andererseits existiert er als generierter Code auch in einer Binärdarstellung (ähnlich Java Bytecode).

Nachdem SAP jederzeit lauffähig sein muss, wird die Entwicklung von Quellcode nicht im Produktivsystem vorgenommen. Neue Programme müssen daher über sogenannte Transportaufträge von der Entwicklungsumgebung in die Folgesysteme importiert werden. Der Zeitpunkt dieser Transporte kann exakt definiert werden. Insbesondere bei umfangreicheren Änderungen erfolgt dies oftmals nachts oder an arbeitsfreien Tagen.

ABAP in Eclipse als Nachfolger der Workbench

Die ABAP Workbench stand immer wieder für ihren mäßigen Bedienkomfort in der Kritik. Kleine Hilfestellungen wie eine Vorwärtsnavigation, bei der mit Doppelklick direkt in Tabellendefinitionen oder Variablendeklarationen abgesprungen werden kann, konnten nicht wesentlich zur Verbesserung beitragen. Mit der neuen ABAP-Entwicklungsumgebung „ABAP in Eclipse“ bietet SAP seit 2012 jedoch eine Alternative beziehungsweise einen Nachfolger für die Workbench an.

SAP ABAP in Eclipse wurde speziell für die agile Software-Entwicklung konzipiert. Neben bestehenden ABAP Workbench-Funktionen sind einige neue Features hinzugekommen. Beispiele sind:

  • Syntax Highlighting (Hervorhebung von Syntaxen)
  • Code Completion (Autovervollständigung von Quellcode)
  • Refactoring (Strukturverbesserung von Quelltexten, auch für das Umbenennen von Variablen und Methoden einsetzbar)

Darüber hinaus kann ABAP in Eclipse mithilfe von Plugins sehr flexibel an individuelle Szenarien angepasst werden. Auch Tests für eine höhere Code-Qualität lassen sich implementieren. Ein neuer Debugger rundet die moderne Entwicklungsumgebung ABAP in Eclipse ab.

SAP ABAP und Sicherheit

Wie in jeder Anwendung, so können auch in SAP ABAP-Programmen Sicherheitslücken bestehen. Diese entstehen überwiegend aus Unwissenheit und Unachtsamkeit der ABAP-Entwickler oder aus fehlender Transparenz, da die enormen Mengen an Code kaum manuell zu überblicken sind.

Der häufigste Fehler in ABAP Eigenentwicklungen ist eine fehlende oder mangelhaft programmierte Berechtigungsprüfung. Hierdurch ist es möglich, dass unbefugte Mitarbeiter auf bestimmte Informationen zugreifen und Missbrauch mit den Daten betreiben. Noch gefährlicher sind jedoch Schwachstellen, durch die externe Angreifer die Kontrolle über SAP-Systeme erlangen können. Kriminelle sind in diesem Falle potenziell in der Lage, komplette SAP Datenbestände zu manipulieren, zu löschen oder zu stehlen.

Um Risiken durch fehlende ABAP-Quellcodes zu minimieren, sind mehrere Maßnahmen erforderlich. Zu nennen sind insbesondere die folgenden Aspekte:

  • Fortlaufende Sicherheitsschulungen für interne Programmierer
  • Bei externen Dienstleistern: Code-Qualitätsstandards in Vereinbarungen aufnehmen
  • Scan der eigenentwickelten ABAP-Codes auf Schwachstellen (möglich mit spezieller Software)
  • Sicherheitspatches zeitnah einspielen
  • Notfallpläne für den Fall erfolgreicher Angriffe aufstellen

Welche Rolle spielt ABAP in SAP S/4 HANA?

Mit Einführung der SAP S/4 HANA-Technologie ist für SAP-Software ein neues Zeitalter angebrochen. Sowohl die Benutzerführung als auch die Datenmodelle wurden signifikant vereinfacht. Die Datenbank befindet sich nicht mehr auf einem Datenbankserver, sondern mit den Programmdaten im Hauptspeicher des Applikationsservers. Datenbank und Anwendung sind in SAP S/4 HANA also miteinander verschmolzen. Für ABAP-Entwickler haben sich hieraus verschiedene Veränderungen ergeben.

Zunächst verschob sich der Fokus von Befehlsanweisungen zu einer funktionalen Ausrichtung. Außerdem wird aus Performance-Gründen empfohlen, in SAP S/4 HANA mit Native SQL (vormals Open SQL) zu programmieren. Der Quellcode wurde aus den Programmen in die Datenbankschicht verlagert. Somit findet die Programmierung direkt auf der Datenbank statt, was mit dem bekannten SAP ABAP nicht mehr möglich ist. Entwickler mussten daher SQLScript als neue Programmiersprache für SAP S/4 HANA erlernen und einsetzen.

Seit der SAP S/4 HANA-Einführung wurde die SAP ABAP-Programmierung allerdings deutlich vereinfacht. Mussten für Datenselektionen anfangs noch komplexe Datenmodellierungen (Analytische Views) vorgenommen werden, genügen heute die einfacheren ABAP-CDS-Views. Hierbei sorgen vordefinierte Datenmodelle dafür, dass Entwickler während des Programmierens komfortabel auf zusammenhängende Daten zurückgreifen können