SAP IS-U, SAP S/4HANA Utilities and SAP C4U

SAP IS-U is the previous SAP solution for the utility industry. With SAP S/4HANA Utilities and SAP C4U, SAP replaces this solution and offers utilities a chance to optimally position themselves for the future.

What is SAP IS-U (SAP Utilities)?

SAP IS-U (SAP Utilities) is a process-oriented application from SAP for the utilities industry, an industrial sector solution from SAP. This solution has been around for more than 20 years.

With SAP IS-U, energy suppliers or other utility companies can control all service and business processes. They can manage master data, monitor networks and also bill services with customers and business partners.

The classic SAP IS-U is a back-end solution and integrated part of SAP ERP, the predecessor system of SAP S/4HANA. SAP will therefore discontinue maintenance for SAP IS-U under SAP ERP at the end of 2027.

The successor to the classic SAP IS-U solution is called SAP S/4HANA Utilities (On-premise). However, this new solution is still frequently referred to in practice and also at SAP as "SAP IS-U".

Furthermore, SAP is already offering the first applications for a new cloud solution for utilities: the SAP C4U (SAP Cloud for Utilities). Development of this SaaS product is expected to be completed by the end of 2021.

Which modules can be linked to SAP IS-U?

The classic SAP IS-U can be linked to various modules under SAP ERP.

SAP IS-U enables integration with SAP CRM (Customer Relationship Management) and SAP BW (Business Warehouse). Service orders or sales of goods are billed via the ERP components Plant Maintenance, Customer Service and Sales. To better manage contracts, modules such as SAP CS or SAP SD can be integrated into SAP IS-U.

SAP IS-U under SAP ERP uses SAP Business Workflow to automatically handle business processes.

What are the functions of SAP IS-U?

According to SAP, the functions of the previous SAP IS-U include

  • the administration of master data (single-case-independent, single-case-related as well as commercial and technical master data) and, for example, the generation of dates for readings of energy data,
  • the management of master data such as business partners, contracts or connection objects such as land or buildings,
  • the management of devices including installation and meter reading,
  • the billing of electricity, water or gas, waste or even internet services,
  • the invoicing,
  • the customer service,
  • Energy Data Management (IS-U-EDM) for energy quantity balancing or load profile measurement,
  • the cross-company data exchange (supplier change processes, etc.),
  • Work Management (IS-U-WM) and
  • SAP Waste and Recycling (IS-U-WA) as a tool especially for waste management companies.

What is SAP S/4HANA Utilities?

SAP S/4HANA Utilities is SAP's offering for utilities that use SAP S/4HANA or wish to upgrade to the new software suite.

However, the transition between the two solutions SAP IS-U and SAP S/4HANA Utilities has not yet been completed. The transition began in 2016, when SAP began the migration to the HANA database.

The further conversion from classic IS-U under SAP ERP to SAP S/4HANA Utilities is currently being carried out step by step. This means that not all functions of the classic solution are yet available under SAP S/4HANA.

The functions of SAP S/4HANA Utilities are currently being gradually expanded with each new release for SAP S/4HANA. In addition, many functions are also developed directly in SAP S/4HANA.

What functions does SAP S/4HANA Utilities offer?

Utility companies, such as energy or water suppliers, can also use SAP S/4HANA Utilities to manage all business processes in principle:

  • from project management to
  • Plant maintenance,
  • from measurement technology and meter reading
  • to planning and analysis,
  • from customer service and marketing to
  • Billing of services.

It is important to know: New functionalities and innovations are only available today for the SAP S/4HANA variant.

In recent years, various innovations and new features have already been introduced for the on-premise variant - including Release 1511 for Analytics, Release 1610 for Fiori and Release 1909 for Process Simplification.

With Release 2020 (October 2020) in particular, SAP has launched numerous additional functionalities for SAP S/4HANA Utilities, especially in the area of contracting accounting and customer engagement.

Current upcoming innovations include partner enhancements for the SAP Cloud for Energy solution or for digital collaboration with stakeholders, for example in the areas of maintenance and procurement.

According to its own statements, SAP will also be developing the Utilities solution significantly in the direction of new technologies such as machine learning and artificial intelligence in the future. SAP made the first machine learning functions available with the 1909 release in September 2019 (in the area of reading energy data and billing).

How is the utility industry changing?

SAP's goal is the "intelligent" utility company that can develop new business models. In addition, companies should be put in a position to cope with the massive changes in the industry in the best possible way.

These changes include, for example, the deregulation of the energy markets, strongly changing customer requirements or stricter environmental regulations.

Many utilities are currently on the way from being purely "metering-oriented suppliers" and providers of gas, water and electricity to becoming "customer-oriented full-service providers" offering a wide range of services - from e-mobility or smart home solutions to fast data lines for private households or even Industry 4.0.

A modern IT architecture - ideally in the cloud in whole or in part - and flexibly deployable and fast applications are the prerequisites for meeting these challenges.

What is SAP C4U (SAP Cloud for Utilities)?

SAP is also investing massively in cloud solutions for the utilities industry. In fact, the SAP Cloud for Utilities is SAP's largest investment in utilities since the introduction of SAP IS-U in 1998.

The new cloud solution for the utilities industry was first announced in 2018 and since then SAP has been developing the solution in cooperation with specialists from utilities and IT consulting companies.

SAP C4U is scheduled to be available as a native end-to-end solution by the end of 2021. Since it is a SaaS (Software as a Service) application, the solution is operated entirely by SAP.

SAP has already launched most parts of the Cloud for Utilities, for example in the areas of marketing, sales and service. SAP C4U already supports the complete lead-to-cash process for non-commodity services, which can complement existing, local SAP for Utilities systems.

The available cloud solutions can be easily integrated into the existing on-premise utilities systems. The advantages of the cloud can then already be used in such hybrid systems.

On the one hand, hybrid systems thus consist of the on-premise SAP S/4HANA Utilities application (for example, for the meter reading and billing process). The other part consists of various cloud solutions (for example for marketing or customer service) from the SAP Cloud for Utilities portfolio. The SAP Cloud Platform is used for integration and as an interface between both worlds.

Will the SAP Cloud for Utilities replace SAP IS-U?

For SAP, the journey is clearly going in the direction of the cloud ("cloud first"), also in the area of utilities. Nevertheless, SAP will continue to invest in the SAP S/4HANA Utilities on-premise solution. The functional scope of this solution is also set to increase further.

In addition, the functional scope of SAP S/4HANA Utilities and SAP Cloud for Utilities is different - and will continue to be so in the future. The SAP Cloud for Utilities will therefore not completely replace the new SAP IS-U.

The on-premise solution is also tailored under SAP S/4HANA to the traditional business of utilities with commodity goods such as water, electricity and gas. The cloud offering, on the other hand, is designed as an SaaS solution for lean business processes.

A complete switch to the cloud is currently not yet an option for most utilities - especially since a comprehensive, native cloud solution is not yet available.

A hybrid solution is therefore currently the most suitable way for many companies to make their business leaner and more flexible, and thus more competitive, and will probably remain so in the future.

In this way, energy suppliers and other utility companies can take advantage of both the proven SAP IS-U solution under SAP S/4HANA and the new cloud solution.

GAMBIT gladly advises you on the introduction of SAP S/4HANA Utilities

Do you need help implementing SAP S/4HANA Utilities or do you have questions about the SAP C4U? We are happy to advise and support you. Talk to us - we will be happy to clarify with you how you can benefit from a cooperation.

Meinolf Schaefer01 1444x1444px

Meinolf Schäfer, Senior Director Sales & Marketing

You are interested, but still have questions? I will be glad to help you.

+49 2241 8845-623

Mr.
Mrs.
Divers

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

*

Please enter a valid phone number

*

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail-Adresse ein

Something is missing here

Something is missing here

You can unsubscribe from these communications at any time. For more information on how to unsubscribe, our privacy practices, and how we are committed to protecting and respecting your privacy, please review our Privacy Policy.

Please check the reCAPTCHA checkbox

SAP IS-U, SAP S/4HANA Utilities und SAP C4U

SAP IS-U ist die bisherige SAP-Lösung für die Versorgungswirtschaft. Mit SAP S/4HANA Utilities und SAP C4U löst SAP diese Lösung ab – und bietet Versorgern die Chance, sich optimal für die Zukunft aufzustellen.

Was ist SAP IS-U (SAP Utilities)?

SAP IS-U (SAP Utilities) ist eine prozessorientierte Anwendung von SAP für die Versorgungswirtschaft, eine industrielle Branchenlösung der SAP. Diese Lösung gibt es seit mehr als 20 Jahren.

Mit SAP IS-U können Energieversorger oder andere Versorgungsunternehmen sämtliche Service- und Geschäftsprozesse steuern. Sie können Stammdaten verwalten, Netze überwachen und zudem Dienstleistungen mit Kunden und Geschäftspartnern abrechnen.

Das klassische SAP IS-U ist eine Back-End-Lösung und integrierter Teil von SAP ERP, dem Vorläufersystem von SAP S/4HANA. Ende 2027 stellt SAP die Wartung für SAP IS-U unter SAP ERP daher ein.

Der Nachfolger der klassischen Lösung SAP IS-U heißt SAP S/4HANA Utilities (On-premise). Häufig wird diese neue Lösung in der Praxis und auch bei SAP allerdings nach wie vor als „SAP IS-U“ bezeichnet.

Darüber hinaus bietet SAP bereits heute erste Anwendungen für eine neue Cloud-Lösung für Versorgungsunternehmen an: die SAP C4U (SAP Cloud for Utilities). Bis Ende 2021 soll die Entwicklung dieses SaaS-Produkts abgeschlossen sein.

Mit welchen Modulen lässt sich SAP IS-U verknüpfen?

Das klassische SAP IS-U lässt sich unter SAP ERP mit verschiedenen Modulen verknüpfen.

SAP IS-U ermöglicht die Integration mit dem SAP CRM (Customer Relationship Management) und dem SAP BW (Business Warehouse). Serviceaufträge oder Warenverkäufe werden über die ERP-Komponenten Instandhaltung, Kundenservice und Vertrieb abgerechnet. Um Verträge besser managen zu können, können Module wie SAP CS oder SAP SD in das SAP IS-U integriert werden.

Das SAP IS-U unter SAP ERP nutzt den SAP Business Workflow, um die Geschäftsprozesse automatisch abzuwickeln.

Was sind die Funktionen von SAP IS-U?

Zu den Funktionen des bisherigen SAP IS-U gehören laut SAP unter anderem

  • die Verwaltung von Stammdaten (einzelfallunabhängige, einzelfallbezogene sowie kaufmännische und technische Stammdaten) und zum Beispiel die Erzeugung von Terminen für Ablesungen von Energiedaten,
  • das Management von Stammdaten wie Geschäftspartner, Verträge oder Anschlussobjekte wie Grundstücke oder Gebäude,
  • die Verwaltung von Geräten inklusive Installation und Ablesung,
  • die Abrechnung von Strom, Wasser oder Gas, Abfall oder auch Internet-Dienstleistungen,
  • die Fakturierung,
  • der Kundenservice
  • das Energiedatenmanagement (IS-U-EDM) zur Energiemengenbilanzierung oder auch Lastgangmessung,
  • den unternehmensübergreifenden Datenaustausch (Lieferantenwechselprozesse, etc.)
  • das Work-Management (IS-U-WM) und
  • SAP Waste and Recycling (IS-U-WA) als Tool speziell für Entsorgungsunternehmen.

Was ist SAP S/4HANA Utilities?

SAP S/4HANA Utilities ist das Angebot von SAP für Versorgungsunternehmen, die SAP S/4HANA nutzen oder auf die neue Software-Suite umsteigen möchten.

Der Übergang zwischen den beiden Lösungen SAP IS-U und SAP S/4HANA Utilities ist aber noch nicht endgültig vollzogen. Der Übergang begann 2016. Damals nahm SAP die Umstellung auf die HANA-Datenbank vor.

Nach und nach erfolgt derzeit der weitere Umbau vom klassischen IS-U unter SAP ERP zu SAP S/4HANA Utilities. Es stehen somit noch nicht alle Funktionen der klassischen Lösung auch unter SAP S/4HANA zur Verfügung.

Die Funktionen von SAP S/4HANA Utilities werden aktuell mit jedem neuen Release für SAP S/4HANA nach und nach erweitert. Viele Funktionen sind zudem direkt in SAP S/4HANA ausgeprägt.

Welche Funktionen bietet SAP S/4HANA Utilities?

Versorgungsunternehmen, wie Energieversorger oder Wasserversorger, können mit SAP S/4HANA Utilities ebenfalls grundsätzlich sämtliche Geschäftsprozesse managen:

  • vom Projektmanagement bis zur
  • Instandhaltung von Anlagen,
  • von der Messtechnik und Zählerablesung
  • bis zu Planung und Analyse,
  • vom Kundenservice und Marketing bis zur
  • Abrechnung von Dienstleistungen.

Wichtig zu wissen ist: Neue Funktionalitäten und Innovationen gibt es heute nur noch für die SAP S/4HANA-Variante.

So wurden in den vergangenen Jahren bereits diverse Innovationen und Neuerungen für die On-premise-Variante vorgestellt – unter anderem ab dem Release 1511 im Bereich Analytics, ab dem Release 1610 bei Fiori und ab dem Release 1909 im Bereich Process Simplification.

Vor allem mit dem Release 2020 (Oktober 2020) hat SAP zahlreiche weitere Funktionalitäten für SAP S/4HANA Utilities auf den Markt gebracht, speziell im Bereich Contracting Accounting und Customer Engagement.

Aktuell bevorstehende Innovationen sind zum Beispiel Partnererweiterungen für die Lösung SAP Cloud for Energy oder für die digitale Zusammenarbeit mit Stakeholdern, etwa in den Bereichen Instandhaltung und Beschaffung.

Nach eigenen Angaben wird SAP die Utilities-Lösung künftig zudem noch deutlich in Richtung neuer Technologien wie Maschinellem Lernen und Künstlicher Intelligenz entwickeln. Erste Machine-Learning-Funktionen hat SAP mit dem Release 1909 im September 2019 zur Verfügung gestellt (im Bereich Ablesung von Energiedaten und Abrechnung).

Wie verändert sich die Versorgungsindustrie?

Das Ziel von SAP ist das „intelligente“ Versorgungsunternehmen, das neue Geschäftsmodelle entwickeln kann. Zudem sollen Unternehmen in die Lage versetzt werden, die massiven Veränderungen in der Branche bestmöglich bewältigen zu können.

Zu diesen Veränderungen gehören zum Beispiel die Deregulierung der Energiemärkte, sich stark wandelnde Kundenanforderungen oder strengere Umweltauflagen.

Viele Versorgungsunternehmen sind derzeit auf dem Weg vom reinen „messorientierten Versorger“ und Anbieter von Gas, Wasser und Strom hin zum „kundenorientierten Full-Service-Provider“, der eine Vielzahl von Services und Dienstleistungen anbietet – von der E-Mobilität oder Smart-Home-Lösungen bis hin zu schnellen Datenleitungen für Privathaushalte oder auch für die Industrie 4.0.

Eine zeitgemäße IT-Architektur – idealerweise in Gänze oder in Teilen in der Cloud – und flexibel einsetzbare und schnelle Anwendungen sind die Voraussetzung, um diese Herausforderungen bewältigen zu können.

Was ist SAP C4U (SAP Cloud for Utilities)?

SAP investiert auch im Bereich der Versorgungsindustrie massiv in Cloud-Lösungen. Die SAP Cloud for Utilities ist sogar die größte Investition von SAP im Bereich Utilities seit der Vorstellung von SAP IS-U 1998.

Erstmals angekündigt wurde die neue Cloud-Lösung für die Versorgungsindustrie im Jahr 2018. Seither entwickelt SAP die Lösung in einer Kooperation mit Spezialisten aus Versorgungs- und IT-Beratungsunternehmen.

Ende 2021 soll SAP C4U als native End-to-End-Lösung zur Verfügung stehen. Da es sich um eine SaaS-Anwendung (Software as a Service) handelt, liegt der Betrieb der Lösung vollständig beim Anbieter SAP.

Die meisten Teile der Cloud for Utilities hat SAP bereits auf den Markt gebracht, etwa im Bereich Marketing, Sales und Service. SAP C4U unterstützt dabei bereits den kompletten Lead-to-Cash-Prozess für Nicht-Commodity-Services, der bestehende, lokale SAP-for-Utilities-Systeme ergänzen kann.

Die zur Verfügung stehenden Cloud-Lösungen können einfach in die vorhandenen On-Premise-Utilities-Systeme integriert werden. In solchen hybriden Systemen lassen sich die Vorteile der Cloud dann bereits nutzen.

Zum einen bestehen hybride Systeme also aus der On-premise-Anwendung SAP S/4HANA Utilities (zum Beispiel für den Ablese- und Abrechnungsprozess). Der andere Teil sind verschiedene Cloud-Lösungen (zum Beispiel für Marketing oder Kundenservice) aus dem SAP-Cloud-for-Utilities-Portfolio. Zur Integration und als Schnittstelle zwischen beiden Welten dient die SAP Cloud Platform.

Wird die SAP Cloud for Utilities das SAP IS-U ersetzen?

Die Reise geht für SAP klar in Richtung Cloud („Cloud first“), auch im Bereich Utilities. Dennoch investiert SAP auch künftig in die On-Premise-Lösung SAP S/4HANA Utilities. Der Funktionsumfang dieser Lösung soll ebenfalls weiter steigen.

Hinzu kommt, dass der Funktionsumfang von SAP S/4HANA Utilities und SAP Cloud for Utilities sich voneinander unterscheidet – und dies auch künftig tun wird. Die SAP Cloud for Utilities wird das neue SAP IS-U also nicht in Gänze ersetzen.

Die On-Premise-Lösung ist auch unter SAP S/4HANA auf das klassische Geschäft der Versorger mit Commodity-Güter wie Wasser, Strom und Gas zugeschnitten. Das Cloud-Angebot hingegen ist als SaaS-Lösung für schlanke Geschäftsprozesse konzipiert.

Der vollständige Umstieg in die Cloud ist augenblicklich für die meisten Versorgungsunternehmen noch keine Option – zumal eine umfassende, native Cloud-Lösung derzeit auch noch nicht zur Verfügung steht.

Eine hybride Lösung ist für viele Unternehmen somit momentan und vermutlich auch künftig der am besten geeignete Weg, das Unternehmen schlanker und flexibler und damit wettbewerbsfähiger aufzustellen.

Auf diese Weise können Energieversorger und andere Versorgungsunternehmen sowohl die Vorteile der bewährten Lösung SAP IS-U unter SAP S/4HANA als auch der neuen Cloud-Lösung nutzen.

GAMBIT berät Sie gerne zur Einführung von SAP S/4HANA Utilities

Sie benötigen Hilfe bei der Einführung von SAP S/4HANA Utilities oder haben Fragen zur SAP C4U? Wir beraten und unterstützen Sie gerne. Sprechen Sie uns an – wir klären gerne gemeinsam mit Ihnen, wie Sie von einer Zusammenarbeit profitieren können.

Meinolf Schaefer01 1444x1444px

Meinolf Schäfer, Senior Director Sales & Marketing

Sie haben Interesse, aber noch Fragen? Ich helfe Ihnen sehr gerne.

+49 2241 8845-623

Herr
Frau

Hier fehlt noch etwas

*

Hier fehlt noch etwas

*

Hier fehlt noch etwas

*

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige Telefonnummer ein

*

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail-Adresse ein

Hier fehlt noch etwas

Hier fehlt noch etwas

Bitte klicken Sie die reCAPTCHA-Checkbox