SAP MOBILE

With the development platform SAP Mobile Platform and the SAP Fiori Apps, SAP is taking the path towards mobile applications - for secure and convenient use of SAP also with smartphones & Co.

What does the term SAP Mobile mean?

Smartphones and tablets have radically changed the world, including the world of business. And they too must therefore adapt to change.

The desktop PC is no longer the measure of all things and no longer the only access point for users to the SAP system. In addition, employees - for example in the home office - occasionally want to use their private devices for professional purposes ("Bring Your Own Device").

Employees today use their cell phones or other mobile devices to access mobile services and, under certain circumstances, the company's own networks and applications - they check their e-mails at the airport, enter data into the system for a new customer or process an order while on the road.

Many companies, especially larger ones, have several years of experience with mobile solutions and have dealt intensively with the topic in recent years.

SAP, too, is therefore continuing to work on making applications available on the move - 100 percent securely, as conveniently as from your desk and, if possible, without time-consuming installation work for the IT department. As early as 2001, SAP presented the first time that working time was recorded via cell phones.

The term SAP Mobile is not a product name. It describes nothing more than the use of mobile technologies, software solutions and applications. Such mobile SAP solutions can then be used to access the company's own SAP ERP system, for example.

The development and operation of such solutions involves various challenges that must be considered and solved:

  • from security and administration
  • to data integration,
  • from the design of the user interfaces
  • up to the actual programming.

With SAP Fiori, SAP has created a user interface with which SAP can be used on a wide variety of devices and platforms - Fiori is available for HTML5 and SAPUI5-based applications in the web browser as well as for mobile apps on iOS or Android and is suitable for any screen size (Responsive Design). SAP now offers more than 12,500 Fiori apps.

Application areas of SAP Mobile

Mobile applications and technologies can be used in many areas and industries - well suited for the use of mobile solutions are the areas of sales, customer service and maintenance.

For network operators and energy suppliers, for example, the use of mobile devices in maintenance is recommended - from deployment control, fault repair to order scheduling, almost the entire "workforce management" (WFM) can be covered by mobile solutions.

In human resources, on the other hand, working hours can be recorded on the smartphone or an application can be made for the next vacation or business trip. This simplifies procedures and ensures faster processes and decisions. With the SAP Concur Mobile App, employees can also easily enter and settle travel expenses or fuel receipts.

In logistics, mobile technologies and corresponding apps have also long since become part of the norm in everyday work - for example, for recording deliveries or stock levels. This allows you to streamline processes and reduce costs.

Advantages and risks of mobile applications

Mobile solutions accelerate processes and increase flexibility. Employees can work on the road at any time. For example, data input can be done immediately and does not have to be done in the office - this reduces the error rate. The security of mobile solutions in particular is a risk that companies must keep in mind.

The advantages of mobile solutions at a glance:

  • Location and time independent access to data and information
  • More efficient use of resources (employees, materials, etc.)
  • Faster and smoother processes (on-site billing, calendar functions and resource planning, etc.)
  • Avoidance of transmission errors
  • Better customer service
  • Improved communication and collaboration
  • Increased competitiveness

Risks of mobile solutions at a glance:

  • Malware, ransomware, phishing (larger number of interfaces and input channels, etc.)
  • Theft of mobile devices (access by unauthorized third parties, data loss, etc.)
  • Improper decommissioning of mobile devices (without first removing sensitive data)
  • Missing, missing updates for operating systems and apps
  • Insecure, unencrypted networks (hotels, train stations, etc.)

SAP Mobile Apps - what are they, what are they?

SAP offers a wealth of apps - on the one hand the Fiori Apps, on the other hand in the SAP App Center a whole range of apps developed by partners and validated by SAP.

The SAP App Center is a virtual and global marketplace for apps. In this marketplace, customers can find, try, and buy apps that match their technologies and needs.

SAP partners, in turn, can offer and sell their apps, extensions, microservices, or add-ons here - similar to what is possible for app providers in the Apple App Store. They have no other option because SAP reviews and approves each offer in advance.

The App Center currently has around 1,800 SAP mobile apps available - from the six areas HR and People Engagement, CRM and Customer Experience, ERP and Finance, Network and Spend Management, Business Technology Platform and Digital Supply Chain.

What is the SAP Mobile Platform?

The SAP Mobile Platform (SMP, until the end of 2013: Sybase Unwired Platform) enables companies to develop mobile applications on-premise. The SAP Mobile Platform provides companies with the components and tools to get applications up and running faster and easier.

There is also the SAP Cloud Platform (SCP), which is hosted by SAP or other vendors.

The aim of both platforms is to develop applications that enable business data to be used on mobile devices. The platforms are basically the middleware layer between the various back-end data sources in the company and the mobile devices.

Mobile Services and SAP Mobile Cards

In total, developers have various "mobile services" at their disposal: the two Software Development Kits (SDK) for iOS and Android, the Mobile Development Kit and the SAP Mobile Cards.

With SAP Mobile Cards, for example, containerized micro-applications can be configured without having to write a single line of code. In this way, important business information can be "packaged" - and then be available to users on their mobile devices.

How are mobile solutions connected to SAP?

The technology for connecting mobile solutions (and also other non-SAP solutions) to SAP systems is called SAP Gateway - basically a middleware or front-end server. The gateway is also a must for Fiori apps.

The SAP Gateway is an integral part of SAP NetWeaver. The SAP Gateway uses the Open Data Protocol (OData), an open standard, for connection.

Simple connection of MDE devices - with ITSmobile

In addition, mobile devices can also be connected to an SAP system via ITSmobile - for example in warehouse logistics.

Classic screen applications can be displayed as performance-optimized HTML pages with the help of ITSmobile. In this way, they can then be displayed on the - usually older and slower - MDE (mobile data entry) devices.

SAP Development: Apps by GAMBIT

GAMBIT has a lot of experience and know-how in the field of development - our experts can also help you if you need mobile software solutions or a special app.

In the past years the developers of GAMBIT have already developed various apps, among others:

  • a "planning app" for a discounter's supplier, who can use the app to plan the delivery of products to the stores on a daily basis
  • an app for check-in and check-out of suppliers at the factory gate of a leading European plastics manufacturer or
  • an app for a global manufacturer of adhesive products that allows customer and material master data from surrounding systems to be entered into the central SAP S/4HANA system for global sales reporting.
Stefan Burghardt01 1444x1444px

Stefan Burghardt, Head of Connectivity + Development

Do you have any questions about SAP Mobile or do you need a mobile application? Feel free to contact me.

+49 2241 8845 637

Mr.
Mrs.
Divers

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

*

Please enter a valid phone number

*

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail-Adresse ein

Something is missing here

Something is missing here

You can unsubscribe from these communications at any time. For more information on how to unsubscribe, our privacy practices, and how we are committed to protecting and respecting your privacy, please review our Privacy Policy.

Please check the reCAPTCHA checkbox

SAP MOBILE

Mit der Entwicklungsplattform SAP Mobile Platform und den SAP Fiori Apps beschreitet SAP den Weg in Richtung mobiler Anwendungen – für eine sichere und bequeme Nutzung von SAP auch mit Smartphone & Co.

Was meint der Begriff SAP Mobile?

Smartphones und Tablets haben die Welt radikal verändert, auch die der Unternehmen. Und auch diese müssen sich daher auf den Wandel einstellen.

Längst ist der Desktop-PC nicht mehr das Maß aller Dinge und nicht mehr der einzige Zugangspunkt für Anwender zum SAP-System. Hinzu kommt, dass Mitarbeiter – zum Beispiel im Homeoffice – gelegentlich auch ihre privaten Geräte für berufliche Zwecke einsetzen möchten („Bring Your Own Device“).

Mitarbeiter greifen heute wie selbstverständlich mit dem Handy oder anderen mobilen Geräten auf mobile Angebote sowie unter Umständen auch auf die unternehmenseigenen Netze und Anwendungen zu – sie checken ihre E-Mails am Flughafen, pflegen bei einem neuen Kunden Daten in das System ein oder bearbeiten einen Auftrag von unterwegs.

Viele, gerade größere Unternehmen haben bereits mehrere Jahre Erfahrung mit mobilen Lösungen und haben sich in den vergangenen Jahren intensiv mit dem Thema auseinandergesetzt.

Auch SAP arbeitet daher weiter daran, Anwendungen mobil verfügbar zu machen – und zwar zu 100 Prozent sicher, so bequem wie vom Schreibtisch aus und möglichst ohne aufwendige Installationsarbeiten für die IT-Abteilung. Schon 2001 hat SAP eine erste Arbeitszeiterfassung über Handys vorgestellt.

Der Begriff SAP Mobile ist kein Produktname. Er beschreibt nichts weiter als die Nutzung mobiler Technologien, Softwarelösungen und Applikationen. Mit solchen mobilen SAP-Lösungen lässt sich dann zum Beispiel auf das unternehmenseigene SAP-ERP-System zugreifen.

Die Entwicklung und der Betrieb derartiger Lösungen umfasst verschiedene Herausforderungen, die beachtet und gelöst werden müssen:

  • von der Sicherheit und Administration
  • bis zur Datenintegration,
  • von der Gestaltung der Benutzeroberflächen
  • bis hin zur eigentlichen Programmierung.

Mit SAP Fiori hat SAP eine Benutzeroberfläche geschaffen, mit der sich SAP auf verschiedensten Geräten und Plattformen nutzen lässt – Fiori steht für HTML5 und SAPUI5-basierte Anwendungen im Webbrowser ebenso zur Verfügung wie für mobile Apps auf iOS oder Android und eignet sich für jede Bildschirmgröße (Responsive-Design). Mittlerweile bietet SAP bereits über 12.500 Fiori-Apps an.

Anwendungsbereiche von SAP Mobile

Mobile Anwendungen und Technologien können in vielen Bereichen und Branchen zum Einsatz kommen – gut geeignet für den Einsatz mobiler Lösungen sind die Bereiche Vertrieb, Kundenservice und Instandhaltung.

Für Netzbetreiber und Energieversorger zum Beispiel ist der Einsatz mobiler Endgeräte in der Instandhaltung zu empfehlen – von der Einsatzsteuerung, der Störungsbehebung bis zur Auftragsdisposition lässt sich nahezu das gesamte „Workforce Management“ (WFM) mobil abdecken.

Im Personalwesen hingegen lassen sich mit dem Smartphone Arbeitszeiten erfassen oder ein Antrag für den nächsten Urlaub oder eine Dienstreise stellen. Das vereinfacht die Abläufe und sorgt für schnellere Prozesse und Entscheidungen. Mit der SAP Concur Mobile App können Mitarbeiter zudem Reisekosten oder Tankbelege komfortabel erfassen und abrechnen.

Auch in der Logistik gehören mobile Technologien und entsprechende Apps längst zur Normalität des Arbeitsalltags – etwa zur Erfassung von Lieferungen oder Lagerbeständen. Prozesse lassen sich auf diese Weise erheblich optimieren, die Kosten senken.

Vorteile und Risiken mobiler Anwendungen

Mobile Lösungen beschleunigen Prozesse und erhöhen die Flexibilität. Mitarbeiter können jederzeit auch von unterwegs arbeiten. Die Eingabe von Daten kann zum Beispiel sofort erledigt werden und muss nicht erst im Büro nachgeholt werden – dies senkt die Fehlerquote. Gerade die Sicherheit mobiler Lösungen ist ein Risiko, das Unternehmen im Blick haben müssen.

Vorteile mobiler Lösungen im Überblick:

  • Ort- und zeitunabhängiger Zugriff auf Daten und Informationen
  • Effizienterer Einsatz von Ressourcen (Mitarbeiter, Material, u. a.)
  • Schnellere und reibungslosere Prozesse (Abrechnung vor Ort, Kalenderfunktionen und Einsatzplanung, u. a.)
  • Vermeidung von Übertragungsfehlern
  • Besserer Kundenservice
  • Verbesserte Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit
  • Höhere Wettbewerbsfähigkeit

Risiken mobiler Lösungen im Überblick:

  • Schadsoftware, Ransomware, Phishing (Größere Zahl von Schnittstellen und Eingangskanälen, u. a.)
  • Diebstahl von mobilen Endgeräten (Zugriff durch unberechtigte Dritte, Datenverlust, u. a.)
  • Unsachgemäße Stilllegung von mobilen Geräten (ohne sensible Daten vorher zu entfernen)
  • Ausbleibende, fehlende Updates für Betriebssysteme und Apps
  • Unsichere, unverschlüsselte Netzwerke (Hotels, Bahnhöfe, u. a.)

SAP Mobile Apps – was ist das, welche gibt es?

SAP bietet eine Fülle von Apps an – zum einen die Fiori Apps, zum anderen im SAP App Center eine ganze Reihe von Apps, die von Partnern entwickelt und von SAP validiert wurden.

Das SAP App Center ist ein virtueller und globaler Marktplatz für Apps. Auf diesem Marktplatz können Kunden zu ihren Technologien und für ihre Bedürfnisse passende Apps finden, ausprobieren und kaufen.

Die SAP Partner wiederum können hier – ähnlich wie dies für Anbieter von Apps im Apple App Store möglich ist – ihre Apps, Erweiterungen, Microservices oder Add-ons anbieten und verkaufen. Eine andere Option haben sie nicht, weil SAP jedes Angebot eigens vorher prüft und freigibt.

Zurzeit stehen im App Center rund 1.800 SAP Mobile Apps zur Verfügung – aus den sechs Bereichen HR und People Engagement, CRM und Customer Experience, ERP und Finance, Network und Spend Management, Business Technology Platform und Digital Supply Chain.

Was ist die SAP Mobile Platform?

Die SAP Mobile Platform (SMP, bis Ende 2013: Sybase Unwired Platform) bietet Unternehmen die Möglichkeit, mobile Anwendungen On-premise zu entwickeln. Die SAP Mobile Platform stellt Unternehmen dabei die entsprechenden Komponenten und Tools zur Verfügung, mit denen sich Anwendungen schneller und einfacher auf den Weg bringen lassen.

Des Weiteren gibt es noch die SAP Cloud Platform (SCP), die von SAP oder bei anderen Anbietern gehostet wird.

Ziel beider Plattformen sind Anwendungen, mit denen sich Geschäftsdaten auch mit mobilen Endgeräten nutzen lassen. Die Plattformen sind dabei im Grunde die Middleware-Schicht zwischen den verschiedenen Back-End-Datenquellen im Unternehmen und den mobilen Geräten.

Mobile Services und SAP Mobile Cards

Insgesamt stehen Entwicklern verschiedene „Mobile Services“ zur Verfügung: die beiden Software Development Kits (SDK) für iOS und Android, das Mobile Development Kit sowie die SAP Mobile Cards.

Mit SAP Mobile Cards zum Beispiel lassen sich containerisierte Microanwendungen konfigurieren, ohne eine Zeile Code schreiben zu müssen. Auf diese Weise können wichtige Geschäftsinformationen „verpackt“ werden – und stehen Anwendern dann auf ihren mobilen Geräten zur Verfügung.

Wie werden mobile Lösungen an SAP angebunden?

Die Technologie für die Anbindung mobiler Lösungen (und auch anderer Non-SAP-Lösungen) an SAP-Systeme heißt SAP Gateway – im Prinzip ein Middleware- beziehungsweise ein Front-End-Server. Für Fiori-Apps ist das Gateway ebenfalls ein Muss.

Das SAP Gateway ist integraler Teil von SAP NetWeaver. Zur Anbindung nutzt das SAP Gateway das Open Data Protocol (OData), einen offenen Standard.

Einfache Anbindung von MDE-Geräten – mit ITSmobile

Zudem lassen sich mobile Endgeräte auch über ITSmobile an ein SAP-System anbinden – etwa in der Lagerlogistik.

Klassische Dynpro-Anwendungen lassen sich mit Hilfe von ITSmobile als performance-optimierte HTML-Seiten anzeigen. Auf diese Weise können sie dann auf den – in der Regel älteren und langsameren – MDE-Geräten (Mobile Datenerfassung) dargestellt werden.

SAP Entwicklung: Apps von GAMBIT

GAMBIT verfügt im Bereich der Entwicklung über viel Erfahrung und Know-how – unsere Experten können auch Ihnen helfen, wenn Sie mobile Softwarelösungen oder eine spezielle App benötigen.

In den vergangenen Jahren haben die Entwickler der GAMBIT zum Beispiel bereits diverse Apps entwickelt, unter anderem:

  • eine „Planungs-App“ für den Lieferanten eines Discounters, der die Anlieferung von Produkten an die Filialen mit der App auf Tagesbasis planen kann,
  • eine App zum Check-in und Check-out von Lieferanten am Werkstor eines führenden europäischen Kunststoffherstellers oder
  • eine App für einen weltweit tätigen Hersteller von Klebeprodukten, mit der Kunden- und Materialstammdaten aus Umfeldsystemen im zentralen SAP S/4HANA-System für das globale Salesreporting erfasst werden können.
Stefan Burghardt01 1444x1444px

Stefan Burghardt, Head of Connectivity + Development

Sie haben Fragen zum Thema SAP Mobile oder benötigen eine mobile Anwendung? Sprechen Sie mich gerne an.

+49 2241 8845 637

Herr
Frau

Hier fehlt noch etwas

*

Hier fehlt noch etwas

*

Hier fehlt noch etwas

*

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige Telefonnummer ein

*

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail-Adresse ein

Hier fehlt noch etwas

Hier fehlt noch etwas

Bitte klicken Sie die reCAPTCHA-Checkbox