SAP BO explained in detail and understandably

SAP BO is a collection of products from numerous individual solutions, with which companies realize analysis and visualization of business management data. But what does this mean in concrete terms?

SAP BO explained in detail and understandably

SAP BO stands for SAP BusinessObjects. It is a platform for reporting and analysis (business intelligence solution), which consists of several products. The SAP BusinessObjects Suite has been part of the BI solutions of SAP since 2007. At that time, the Walldorf-based software group acquired the French provider of the same name, BusinessObjects. SAP BO is available both cloud-based and in local deployment.

What is SAP BO used for and where is it used?

The main goal of SAP BO is to make reports and analyses so intuitive that business users no longer need data analysts or IT support to answer their questions. Thus, BusinessObjects can also be called "self-service BI".

Among other things, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence provides drag-and-drop functionality that allows users to create and modify their own reports. Another advantage is the ability to combine information from different sources in the form of multidimensional data analyses.

SAP BusinessObjects is aimed at a wide range of target groups, including industry, public institutions, financial service providers, and non-profit organizations. The tools are used, for example, in management, sales, production, finance, controlling, and procurement.

How does SAP BO work?

From a technical point of view, SAP BO contains several technologies and applications from the BI area. These include among others:

  • ETL (Extract, Transform, Load): Extract, prepare and integrate data from different sources
  • Predictive dashboard: Visual presentation of key figures and forecasts
  • Tools for creating reports / reportings (operational reporting)
  • OLAP (Online Analytical Processing): approach to data analysis from different perspectives
  • Ad-hoc reporting functions

Data acquisition from different sources is mainly done via middleware, also called "Universe". This means that the data is not stored at SAP BI application level, but is integrated from different backend systems. Thanks to SAP BusinessObjects Universe, users do not need to worry about which database the data comes from, what structure it has or where it is stored.

Here you can read about the functionalities SAP CRM brings with it to build a deeper relationship with the customer.

What are the benefits of SAP Business Objects BI?

Before the introduction of SAP BO, companies had to use various applications from different vendors to realize all relevant analyses and reports. As a holistic and integrated platform, SAP BusinessObjects solves this problem.

However, the performance that SAP BO has achieved is also advantageous. While in the past only reports based on historical data were possible, today the tools also allow business intelligence analyses in real-time. In addition, the autonomy of the users is strengthened. Thanks to SAP BO, users are able to create reports independently. It is no longer necessary to involve the IT department to implement individual requirements. Of course, this also increases the ability to react.

Furthermore, the tools can also be used on mobile end devices such as smartphones and tablets, which is clearly in line with modern working methods.

SAP BO also offers strengths in terms of collaboration. The tools make it easy to share reports and statistics with other users in the company and with external partners. If required, up to one million users can be automatically provided with relevant information via different communication channels.

Components of SAP BO

SAP BO includes several reporting and analysis tools, but all of them serve their own purpose. Essentially, the following components should be mentioned:

  • SAP BO Web Intelligence (Webi)
  • Crystal Reports
  • SAP BusinessObjects Dashboards
  • SAP BusinessObjects Explorer
  • Query as a Web Service (QaaWS)
  • SAP BusinessObjects Design Studio
  • SAP Lumira

Let us take a closer look at these building blocks in the following.

SAP BO Web Intelligence (Webi)

Web Intelligence (Webi) is a tool for web browsers. It is used to create analyses and formatted reports. In addition, Webi enables reports to be exported in PDF and Excel format and distributed within SAP BO.

The easy handling of Web Intelligence is also worth mentioning. Ad-hoc queries can be performed at any time with the browser tool. Existing reports can be adapted with just a few clicks, allowing individual questions to be answered.

Crystal Reports

Crystal Reports is also a data analysis and reporting application. It is aimed primarily at individual users or small and medium-sized companies. Crystal Reports enables users to create dynamic reports, with data coming from a variety of sources. In addition, a wide range of options for formatting and visual presentation are available. The operative reports can be accessed either online or offline via applications, portals or mobile devices. Crystal Reports is also suitable for application development.

SAP BusinessObjects Dashboards

SAP BusinessObjects Dashboards (formerly Xcelsius) is a data visualisation tool. Users have the possibility to create individual dashboards from reports. Some examples of visualization options include charts and gauges (similar to a speedometer). In particular, the SAP BO dashboards are used to dynamically monitor key performance indicators (KPIs).

SAP BusinessObjects Explorer

BusinessObjects Explorer is a relatively new component of SAP BO. Under the "Big Data" flag, this self-service tool enables you to examine and visualize large quantities of data records and make them available to the entire company. This is also referred to as data exploration. In terms of speed and ease of use, SAP BusinessObjects Explorer is based on modern Web search technologies. In addition, functions for sorting, drilldown and dynamic visualization during navigation through company data are available.

Query as a Web Service (QaaWS)

With Query as a Web Service (QaaWS), Web services can be created and published. These Web services can then be used in SAP BusinessObjects dashboards, Crystal Reports, and other applications. The tool also provides dashboard developers with wizard-driven features that make it easy to create Universe queries and deploy them as a Web service.

SAP BusinessObjects Design Studio

SAP BusinessObjects Design Studio enables users to create custom applications and dashboards. Multiple data sources can be connected - including SAP BW, SAP HANA, CSV files, and even the SAPO universes. Technically, the Design Studio is based on the JavaScript framework UI5. In the future, the tool is to be merged with SAP Lumira, which means that the product name will no longer exist.

SAP Lumira

SAP Lumira is used both for data collection and for data visualization in self-service. Users can use the tool to find and examine relevant business content. Lumira can also be used to create customized and interactive dashboards and analysis applications.

MEINOLF SCHÄFER, SENIOR DIRECTOR SALES & MARKETING

Do you have any questions? Write me or call me - I'm happy to help! Write message
Team meinolf schaefer freisteller

What is SAP BusinessObjects Analysis?

SAP BusinessObjects Analysis is available in two versions: for OLAP and for Microsoft Office. The latter version is aimed specifically at users who want to integrate SAP analysis options into Excel. BusinessObjects Analysis obtains its data either from SAP HANA or SAP BW. On this basis, tables and diagrams can then be realized in Excel. A connection to Microsoft PowerPoint is also possible. The OLAP version, on the other hand, is responsible for creating reports via any web browser. The application is therefore platform-independent.

Which SAP BO front-end tool should companies choose?

As an interim conclusion, it can be stated that SAP BO provides an enormous range of tools. Therefore, companies regularly ask themselves the question which front-end product fits best to their individual requirements. This question is relevant for a complete new introduction of SAP BO as well as for the replacement of old BO tools.

During the selection process, those responsible should focus on two aspects in particular: the target group and the use case. As far as the target group is concerned, the following questions can be helpful:

  • Who will use the content? (e.g. management, decision makers, business users, professional analysts)
  • How experienced are the identified target groups in using BI tools?
  • Which software do the users currently use?

The following factors are relevant with regard to applications:

  • What are the technical requirements? (Definition for each department)
  • How does the target group get the latest information?
  • How does the target group deal with the information today? (preparation, visualization, distribution etc.)

If there is a large number of users, the catalogue of requirements can also be derived from a standardised survey. In the second step, the requirements list can then be compared in detail with the available SAP BO tools. The tool with the highest level of agreement is finally awarded the "contract".

SAP BO vs. SAP Analytics: What are the differences?

SAP still uses the term "SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence" to describe both the platform and the front-end applications for reporting and analysis mentioned above. In the foreseeable future, however, the term "BusinessObjects" will no longer exist because SAP is making extensive changes in the analytics area. The new collective term will be "SAP Analytics".

The most comprehensive tool from the SAP Analytics area is already the so-called SAP Analytics Cloud. This is a central platform on which all of a company's planning, reporting, and analysis can be brought together. Innovative technologies such as machine learning and predictive analytics are also used here.

Ultimately, this enables well-founded decisions based on real-time data - even in extremely complex scenarios. In the context of Big Data, the SAP Analytics Cloud also enables the connection of various on-premise and cloud data sources from the SAP and non-SAP environment.

What happens to older BO and BI tools?

Some of the applications mentioned above will in the future be integrated either in the SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC) or in SAP Lumira. For example, SAP recommends that users of SAP BO Dashboards switch to Lumira Designer or SAC. Users of SAP BusinessObjects Explorer should also switch to SAC. Support here will end as early as December 31, 2020, when Adobe's Flash technology will be discontinued.

Products that SAP believes will last longer are SAP Web Intelligence (Webi), Crystal Reports, and SAP Analysis for Office.

Meinolf Schaefer01 1444x1444px

Meinolf Schäfer, Senior Director Sales & Marketing

Do you have any questions? I will be glad to help you.

+49 2241 8845-623

We are your partner for all questions and requirements around SAP. Contact us for a personal conversation.

Mr.
Mrs.
Divers

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

*

Something is missing here

*

Please enter a valid phone number

*

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail-Adresse ein

Something is missing here

Something is missing here

I agree that my e-mail and, if provided, my telephone number may be collected, processed and used by GAMBIT Consulting GmbH for marketing purposes. The data will not be passed on to third parties. The consent can be revoked at any time. Further information can be found in our privacy policy

Please check the reCAPTCHA checkbox

SAP BO ausführlich und verständlich erklärt

SAP BO steht für SAP BusinessObjects. Es handelt sich hierbei um eine Plattform für Reportings und Analysen (Business-Intelligence-Lösung), die aus mehreren Produkten besteht. Die SAP BusinessObjects Suite ist bereits seit dem Jahr 2007 Bestandteil der BI-Lösungen von SAP. Seinerzeit übernahm der Walldorfer Software-Konzern den gleichnamigen französischen Anbieter BusinessObjects. Erhältlich ist SAP BO sowohl cloud-basiert als auch in der lokalen Bereitstellung.

Wofür wird SAP BO verwendet und wo wird es eingesetzt?

Das wesentliche Ziel von SAP BO ist es, Reports und Analysen so intuitiv zu gestalten, dass Fachanwender keine Datenanalysten oder IT-Unterstützung mehr benötigen, um ihre Fragestellungen beantworten zu können. Somit kann BusinessObjects auch als „Self-Service-BI“ bezeichnet werden. Unter anderem stellt SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Drag-and-Drop-Funktionen bereit, mit denen Anwender ihre Reportings eigenständig zusammenstellen und verändern können. Vorteilhaft ist auch die Möglichkeit, Informationen aus unterschiedlichen Quellen in Form multidimensionaler Datenanalysen zu kombinieren.

SAP BusinessObjects richtet sich an unterschiedlichste Zielgruppen wie die Industrie, öffentliche Einrichtungen, Finanzdienstleister und auch gemeinnützige Organisationen. Eingesetzt werden die Tools beispielsweise im Management, im Vertrieb, in der Fertigung, im Finanzwesen, im Controlling und in der Beschaffung.

Wie funktioniert SAP BO?

Aus technischer Sicht beinhaltet SAP BO mehrere Technologien und Anwendungen aus dem BI-Bereich. Hierzu zählen unter anderem:

  • ETL (Extract, Transform, Load): Extrahieren, Aufbereiten und Integrieren von Daten aus unterschiedlichen Quellen
  • Prädiktives Dashboard: Visuelle Darstellung von Kennzahlen und Prognosen
  • Tools zum Erstellen von Berichten / Reportings (operatives Berichtswesen)
  • OLAP (Online Analytical Processing): Ansatz zur Datenanalyse aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven
  • Ad-hoc-Berichtsfunktionen

Die Datenbeschaffung aus unterschiedlichen Quellen erfolgt im Wesentlichen über Middleware, die auch „Universe“ genannt wird. Die Daten werden also nicht auf SAP-BI-Anwendungsebene abgelegt, sondern aus unterschiedlichen Backend-Systemen integriert. Die Anwender brauchen sich dank SAP BusinessObjects Universe nicht darum kümmern, aus welcher Datenbank die Daten stammen, welche Struktur sie besitzen oder wo sie gespeichert sind.

Welche Vorteile hat SAP Business Objects BI?

Vor der Einführung von SAP BO mussten Unternehmen verschiedene Anwendungen unterschiedlicher Anbieter nutzen, um alle relevanten Analysen und Berichte zu realisieren. Als ganzheitliche und integrierte Plattform löst SAP BusinessObjects diese Problematik.

Vorteilhaft ist jedoch auch die Leistungsfähigkeit, die SAP BO erreicht hat. Waren früher nur Reports auf Basis von Vergangenheitsdaten möglich, erlauben die Tools heute auch Business-Intelligence-Analysen in Echtzeit. Zudem wird die Autonomie der Nutzer gestärkt. Die Anwender sind dank SAP BO in der Lage, Reports selbstständig zu erstellen. Es ist nicht länger erforderlich, zur Umsetzung individueller Ansprüche die IT-Abteilung einzuschalten. Natürlich wird hierdurch auch die Reaktionsfähigkeit erhöht. Weiterhin lassen sich die Tools auch auf mobilen Endgeräten wie Smartphones und Tablets nutzen, was einer modernen Arbeitsweise klar entgegenkommt.

Stärken bietet SAP BO darüber hinaus hinsichtlich der Kollaboration. Die Tools machen es einfach, Berichte und Statistiken mit anderen Anwendern im Unternehmen und mit externen Partnern zu teilen. Bis zu einer Million Nutzer können bei Bedarf über unterschiedliche Kommunikationskanäle automatisch mit relevanten Informationen versorgt werden.

Komponenten von SAP BO

SAP BO umfasst mehrere Berichts- und Analysetools, die jedoch allesamt einen eigenen Zweck erfüllen. Zu nennen sind im Wesentlichen folgende Komponenten:

  • SAP BO Web Intelligence (Webi)
  • Crystal Reports
  • SAP BusinessObjects Dashboards
  • SAP BusinessObjects Explorer
  • Query as a Web Service (QaaWS)
  • SAP BusinessObjects Design Studio
  • SAP Lumira

Sehen wir uns diese Bausteine im Folgenden näher an.

SAP BO Web Intelligence (Webi)

Web Intelligence (Webi) ist ein Tool für Webbrowser. Es dient der Erstellung von Analysen und formatierten Berichten. Zudem ermöglicht Webi einen Export von Berichten im PDF- und Excel-Format sowie eine Verteilung innerhalb von SAP BO.

Hervorzuheben ist zudem die einfache Bedienung von Web Intelligence. Ad-hoc-Abfragen lassen sich mit dem Browser-Tool jederzeit durchführen. Mit wenigen Klicks sind bestehende Berichte anpassbar, wodurch sich auch individuelle Fragestellungen beantworten lassen.

Crystal Reports

Bei Crystal Reports handelt es sich ebenfalls um eine Datenanalyse- und Reporting-Anwendung. Diese richtet sich vordergründig an Einzelbenutzer oder kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen. Mit Crystal Reports sind Anwender in der Lage, dynamische Berichte zu erstellen, wobei die Daten aus unterschiedlichsten Quellen stammen können. Zudem stehen vielfältige Möglichkeiten zur Formatierung und optischen Aufbereitung zur Verfügung. Der Zugriff auf die operativen Reports erfolgt wahlweise online oder offline über Anwendungen, über Portale oder auch über mobile Endgeräte. Weiterhin eignet sich Crystal Reports auch für die Anwendungsentwicklung.

SAP BusinessObjects Dashboards

SAP BusinessObjects Dashboards (ehemals Xcelsius) ist ein Werkzeug für die Datenvisualisierung. Anwender haben hier die Möglichkeit, aus Berichten individuelle Dashboards zu erstellen. Nur einige Beispiele für die Visualisierungsoptionen sind Diagramme und Messgeräte (ähnlich einem Tachometer). Insbesondere werden die SAP BO Dashboards eingesetzt, um Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) dynamisch zu überwachen.

SAP BusinessObjects Explorer

BusinessObjects Explorer ist eine verhältnismäßig neue Komponente von SAP BO. Unter der Flagge „Big Data“ ermöglicht es dieses Self-Service-Tool, große Mengen von Datensätzen zu untersuchen, zu visualisieren und dem gesamten Unternehmen zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die Rede ist hierbei auch von einer sogenannten Datenexploration. Hinsichtlich der Geschwindigkeit und Bedienung orientiert sich der SAP BusinessObjects Explorer an modernen Web-Suchtechnologien. Zudem sind Funktionen zur Sortierung, zum Drilldown (Aufriss) und zur dynamischen Visualisierung während der Navigation durch Unternehmensdaten vorhanden.

Query as a Web Service (QaaWS)

Mit Query as a Web Service (QaaWS) lassen sich Webservices erstellen und veröffentlichen. Diese Webservices können dann in SAP BusinessObjects Dashboards, Crystal Reports und auch in anderen Anwendungen genutzt werden. Das Tool stellt Dashboard-Entwicklern zudem Assistenzfunktionen zur Verfügung, welche die Erstellung von Universe-Abfragen und deren Bereitstellung als Webservice vereinfacht.

SAP BusinessObjects Design Studio

SAP BusinessObjects Design Studio versetzt Anwender in die Lage, individuelle Anwendungen und Dashboards zu erstellen. Es lassen sich hierbei mehrere Datenquellen anbinden - darunter SAP BW, SAP HANA, CSV-Dateien und auch die SAP-BO-Universen. Technisch setzt das Design Studio auf das JavaScript-Framework UI5. Künftig soll das Tool mit SAP Lumira zusammengeführt werden, wodurch die Produktbezeichnung nicht mehr existent sein wird.

SAP Lumira

SAP Lumira wird sowohl zur Datenerfassung als auch zur Datenvisualisierung im Self-Service genutzt. Benutzer können mit dem Tool relevante Business-Inhalte finden und untersuchen. Weiterhin lassen sich mit Lumira individuelle und interaktive Dashboards sowie Analyseanwendungen erstellen.

Was ist SAP BusinessObjects Analysis?

SAP BusinessObjects Analysis ist in zwei Varianten erhältlich: für OLAP und für Microsoft Office. Die letztere Version richtet sich speziell an Benutzer, die SAP-Analysemöglichkeiten in Excel einbinden möchten. Seine Daten bezieht BusinessObjects Analysis wahlweise aus SAP HANA oder SAP BW. In Excel können auf dieser Basis dann Tabellen und Diagramme realisiert werden. Auch eine Verbindung zu Microsoft PowerPoint ist möglich. Die OLAP-Version ist hingegen für die Erstellung von Reports über einen beliebigen Webbrowser zuständig. Die Applikation ist hierdurch plattformunabhängig.

Welches SAP-BO-Frontend-Tool sollten Unternehmen wählen?

Als Zwischenfazit kann festgehalten werden, dass SAP BO eine enorme Bandbreite an Tools bereithält. Unternehmen stellen sich daher regelmäßig die Frage, welches Frontend-Produkt am besten zu den individuellen Anforderungen passt. Relevant ist diese Fragestellung sowohl bei einer kompletten Neueinführung von SAP BO als auch bei der Ablösung alter BO-Tools.

Beim Auswahlprozess sollten sich Verantwortliche insbesondere an zwei Aspekten orientieren: an der Zielgruppe und am Anwendungsfall. Was die Zielgruppe betrifft, können folgende Fragestellungen hilfreich sein:

  • Wer wird die Inhalte nutzen? (z. B. Management, Entscheider, Fachanwender, Profi-Analysten)
  • Wie erfahren sind die identifizierten Zielgruppen im Umgang mit BI-Tools?
  • Welche Software setzen die Anwender derzeit ein?

Hinsichtlich der Anwendungsfälle sind folgende Faktoren relevant:

  • Wie stellen sich die fachlichen Anforderungen dar? (Definition für jede Abteilung)
  • Wie gelangt die Zielgruppe aktuell an Informationen?
  • Wie geht die Zielgruppe heute mit den Informationen um? (Aufbereitung, Visualisierung, Verteilung etc.)

Bei einer großen Nutzeranzahl kann der Anforderungskatalog auch aus einer standardisierten Befragung abgeleitet werden. Im zweiten Schritt lässt sich die Anforderungsliste dann im Detail mit den verfügbaren SAP-BO-Tools abgleichen. Das Tool mit der höchsten Übereinstimmung erhält schließlich den „Zuschlag“.

SAP BO vs. SAP Analytics: Wo liegen die Unterschiede?

Noch vereint SAP unter dem Begriff „SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence“ sowohl die Plattform als auch die oben genannten Frontend-Anwendungen für Berichte und Analysen. In absehbarer Zeit wird der Begriff „BusinessObjects“ jedoch nicht mehr existieren, da SAP im Analytics-Bereich umfassende Änderungen vornimmt. Der neue Sammelbegriff wird „SAP Analytics“.

Das umfangreichste Tool aus dem SAP-Analytics-Bereich ist schon heute die sogenannte SAP Analytics Cloud. Es handelt sich hierbei um eine zentrale Plattform, auf der sämtliche Planungen, Reportings und Analysen eines Unternehmens zusammengeführt werden können. Zum Einsatz kommen hier außerdem innovative Technologien wie Machine Learning und Predictive Analytics. Letztlich sind hierdurch fundierte Entscheidungen auf Basis von Echtzeitdaten möglich - selbst in äußerst komplexen Szenarien. Im Kontext von Big Data ermöglicht die SAP Analytics Cloud zudem das Anbinden verschiedenster On-Premise- und Cloud-Datenquellen aus dem SAP- und Non-SAP-Umfeld.

Was geschieht mit älteren BO- und BI-Tools?

Einige der oben genannten Anwendungen werden in Zukunft entweder in der SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC) oder in SAP Lumira aufgehen. So empfiehlt SAP beispielsweise den Anwendern von SAP BO Dashboards, auf Lumira Designer oder SAC umzusteigen. Nutzer von SAP BusinessObjects Explorer sollten ebenfalls zur SAC wechseln. Der Support endet hier bereits zum 31. Dezember 2020, da zu diesem Zeitpunkt die Flash-Technologie von Adobe eingestellt wird.

Produkte, die laut SAP noch länger Bestand haben werden, sind hingegen SAP Web Intelligence (Webi), Crystal Reports und SAP Analysis for Office.

Meinolf Schaefer01 1444x1444px

Meinolf Schäfer, Senior Director Vertrieb & Marketing

Haben Sie Fragen? Ich helfe gerne weiter.

+49 2241 8845-623

Wir sind ihr Partner bei allen Fragen und Anforderungen rund um SAP. Kontaktieren Sie mich für ein persönliches Gespräch.

Herr
Frau

Hier fehlt noch etwas

*

Hier fehlt noch etwas

*

Hier fehlt noch etwas

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige Telefonnummer ein

*

Ihre gültige E-Mail-Adresse

Hier fehlt noch etwas

Hier fehlt noch etwas

Bitte klicken Sie die reCAPTCHA-Checkbox